Question / Help Getting Started...

Hi learned mates

I'm a newbie to screen recording and to OBS.

I downloaded and installed the Full Installer.

I thought I might get lucky so I pressed the Start recoding and moved the mouse around the screen pointing to my program icons on my desktop while talking during the “recoding.”

I did a search of the hard drive using Agent Ransack on my Windows 7 PC on a 32-bit laptop but I did not find that recoding.

What file format are OBS saved as? Can I change the saved format (e.. mp4, etc.)?

Is there a way to direct where the recordings will be saved?

Do I just press the Start Recoding button and when I'm finished recording pres the Stop Recording button and it saves the recording?

Or are there other steps?

Is there a way for me to name each recording?

Is there time limit for each recording?

Thank you so much for your kind help!

RYAM77

That's a lot to ask!
  • The recommended file format is mp4, as it is compatible with pretty much any video editing software and YouTube.
  • In OBS, Go to Settings, then click on Output, then set the Output Mode to Advanced to see more settings. Assuming that you don't stream, click on Recording, and set the Recording Path to a specific file. Of course, you can name it whatever you want.
  • Yes, you click on Start Recording to start your recording, and while recording, click on Stop Recording to stop recording and the file will be saved.
  • No, even though OBS is free software, there is no limit to how long you record each session.

Hi RYAM77,

Thanks so much for sharing your much appreciated details.

I thought it better to ask the questions right away rather than piecemeal.

When I did a search for all files created yesterday, I did not see any .mp4 files.

But,now that you've kindly shared the correct steps, I'll follow them and check again for the recorded file.

Thank you again for all your help.

Hi RYAM77,

Thank you so much for your helpful instructions.