Terrible Recording Quality/Replay Buffer Inconsistency (HELP!)

Jackadoodles

Hello, total OBS noob here.

I am looking for an alternative to NVIDIA's Shadowplay, which has proven to be pretty unreliable at times, and generally lower quality. I've heard many good things about OBS, but despite looking into just about every corner I can find, I can't seem to get it to work. I'm using very high-end hardware, which only adds to my confusion.

-RECORDINGS-
Test recordings I've made run at extremely low FPS (like "98-99% of frames are dropped" extremely low), and the recorded audio quality is significantly worse than the original. I've messed around with bitrates, file types, encoders and presets - but even when using the "highest" of what's available, I still get a low-quality result. OBS has told me that the encoder is struggling, but with no more than 1.4% of my CPU being used at a time, and a pretty heavy-duty GPU (more on that below), I'm not sure how that is possible.

-BUFFERS-
In addition, I just can't for the life of me get the Replay Buffer to work reliably. It just won't work. It doesn't matter if there's a game running or it's just my desktop display, clicking on the "Save Buffer" option or hitting my hotkey won't save a damn thing. The Replay Buffer is what is most important to me (more so than recordings), as I originally set my sights on OBS as an alternative to Shadowplay - however, if even my recordings are suffering such terrible quality, I'm not sure that the buffers would be any better if they even saved in the first place.

Those are the main issues I'm facing - low FPS, bad audio quality, and the Replay Buffer barely working.

-SPECS-
RTX 3090
Intel i9-10900KF
128GB RAM
Windows 10

-TARGET-