OBS Crashing on Catalina/iMac Pro

chandlergrace

I am new to OBS and I have tried adjusting settings based on recommendations that I have found, but I am concerned that something else my be at play here.

Typically OBS will run without issue for up to two hours prior to "going live". Typically after I have switched the scene to the Live scene it will run for about 10 minutes and then crash. I am streaming to restream.io and that goes to 4 destinations:
  • Mixcloud
  • Twitch
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
I had initially thought that the issue was with Facebook because if I disabled the stream from restream.io to FB, OBS seems to not crash and all is good. Today however I was not streaming at all, just setting up a new "goodbye" scene (OBS crashed once during that process) and looking that Settings window (OBS crashed twice during that process).

OBS Scene/Source configuration:
  • Countdown
    • Video with audio (Short, On loop)
    • Image - Show title
    • Image - My name
    • Text box "Starting in:"
    • Text box - Countdown (read from external file provided by My Stream TImer)
  • Live (I have two to choose from, basically the same, just one has an extra image/logo included on it that I setup today)
    • Video without audio (1 hour long, on loop)
    • Image - Show title
    • Image - My name
    • URL - Restream Chat overlay
    • Audio source - Main content, comes from audio interface
  • Goodbye (Setup today, never been used)
    • Video without audio (1 hour long, on loop)
    • Image - Show title
    • Image - My name
    • Image - Goodby message
    • Audio source - Main content, comes from audio interface
The settings I tried tweaking today were:
  1. Changed the Output Encoder settings to hardware as opposed to the x264 default setting
  2. Rescale Output dropped to lower setting
  3. Increased bitrate to 3000 Kbps