Audio crackling / popping on Linux + OBS + Steam Proton (gameplay rec for YT)

Sturmlocke

Hello,

I've been struggeling with this issue for a couple of months now. So far I have been removing the audio crackle / popping post recording to the best of my current ability, but since this is a super time consuming workaround, I am now seeking help from ya'll because I have ran out of ideas and I lack the time to further troubleshoot this problem.

The issue: Recording gameplay for my channel on Youtube sometimes produces a little audio hiccup / glitch in sound that you can hear as a short crackling or popping sound every now and then. As far as I can tell it occures randomly, usually after recording 4-6 minutes of gameplay footage.

System specs:
  • Dell Inc. OptiPlex 7050
  • Intel® Core™ i7-7700 CPU @ 3.60GHz × 8
  • NVIDIA RTX A2000/PCIe/SSE2
  • openSUSE Leap 15.5
  • 64-bit
  • Gnome 41.8
  • X11
  • Nvidia driver version: 545
  • Soundcard: Asus Xonar SE internal
  • Soundcard specs: 192kHz/24-Bit, 5.1-channel und 300-Ohm-Headset enhancement
  • System and recording drive: M2 NVME SSD + 2 x SSD in RAID 0 mode
  • OBS version (Flatpak): 30.0.2

Also tested on its smaller brother:
  • Dell Inc. Optiplex 3040
  • Intel Core i7-6700 CPU x8
  • Nvidia T600
  • openSUSE Leap 15.5
  • 64-bit
  • Gnome 41.8
  • X11
  • Nvidia driver version 545
  • onboard audio
  • System and recording drive: M2 NVME SSD
  • OBS version (Flatpak): 30.0.2

In both cases: No microphone connected to the pc, no other audio devices connected to the pc. Bluetooth dongle connected to the pc for mouse / keyboard combo and PS4 wireless controller.