Question / Help OBS using >40% CPU, games too laggy to play

thornless_rose

Hi all. I'm not the best when it comes to the technical aspects of computers, but I really want to give streaming a go. I've been trying countless methods to speed up my computer to stream. I followed the posted guide, and even tried this method to use my laptop to help carry the weight of streaming, but couldn't get it to work. I've been taking care to watch the task manager as well and have manually closed any programs that were using too much memory. Also, I cleaned the inside of my PC less than a month ago, so I don't think there are any issues of dust/overheating.

Here is the log of my most recent attempt to stream Rimworld (which usually runs perfectly fine). As soon as I started playing the game, the CPU usage of OBS went from about 5% to 40%, and it was too laggy to continue. I believe all my computer specs are in that log, but if not, I'd be happy to find those as well. My PC was custom built around 3 years ago - I'm open to the idea of upgrading some parts, but I wouldn't know where to start with that.

I would greatly appreciate any and all advice!

thornless_rose

Thanks for your quick response, here is the image. I hope that's what you meant! Funny you should mention the graphics card - I've been having some issues with it. I had tried to install updates on the drivers and it would endlessly tell me that it couldn't install them for no apparent reason. I ended up reinstalling all the drivers from their website (instead of updating via the program on my computer) which eventually seemed to work. Not sure if that's related at all.

thornless_rose