Question / Help URGENT OBS causing internet to stop working

kizzyartfox

I use ethernet, Windows 10 64 bit, OBS Studio 23.0.2 64 bit

During streams, could be 2 minutes in or 2 hours, OBS causes my ethernet internet to completely stop working. Restarting PC resolves issue. Small note, I've noticed this usually happens if a notification appears.. not sure if that is a coincidence or not. Hopefully log file is useful.

Never had internet issues, 100% sure it isn't the cable either. Only happens during streaming. Has happened multiple times now and in the past ONLY during streaming with OBS.

Urgently need to solve as I am a full time streamer (what I do for a living alongside artist work).

Attached log file. Internet died at end of log file.

Thanks everyone, any information needed, please let me know, I am not very good with tech stuff.

Kizz

Attachments

• 2019-04-02 09-53-03.txt
    54.6 KB · Views: 202

FerretBomb

To diagnose this fully, you'll need to end up on the technical side.
The most likely (99%) cause of this is, as R1CH stated, your modem/router; lower-quality ones can be overwhelmed by constant high-bitrate usage, and crash. Streaming upload tends to be much more demanding than most light/intermittent use, or short-term peaks like many bandwidth test sites; they can glitch internally due to poor firmware, simply overheat due to poor ventilation or components, or even just be kicked offline by your ISP for heavy extended usage under any number of excuses that boil down to 'using too much bandwidth, which is suspicious/expensive for us'.

First step would be to wait for the crash, unplug power to your modem, wait a few seconds, plug it back in, then wait a few minutes for it to boot up and re-establish connection to your ISP, and to let your computer re-acquire an internal IP. If your internet connection works again, troubleshooting done, it's the router/modem and you need a replacement with something of higher quality.