Screen tearing in recording (but not while playing)

CeceWho

Hello all,

I have started recording Return of the Obra Dinn for a let's play. I used the same settings as for my previous recording for which I had no issues. I saw no problem on the screen while playing. However when I started editing the video, there was a clear tearing whenever I was moving around. I have attached a screenshot and the log file of the OBS session.

I am quite new in all of this so I made a little bit of research and tried a few fixes from the developers ( Command Line Options – 3909 - Support (zendesk.com) ° which did not help. I also tried to change the fps in OBS but it did not help either.

I am sure there is a fix (maybe linked to my screen?) but not being an expert makes all this quite complex... I hope you can help! :)

Thank you in advance and let me know if you need more information!

screen tearing.jpg

Attachments

• 2021-04-10 12-29-37.txt
    15.5 KB · Views: 20

FerretBomb

It is strongly advised to NOT use Display Capture if at all possible. It is the worst-performing capture method, and will interfere with other captures... including other display captures.

Use a Game or Window Capture instead.

If it is still occurring with the appropriate one of those, please update and @ me; I've noticed significant tearing issues in OBS lately, and am working to collect more information about the situation. It may be unrelated to this though, thanks to the display capture in use.

CeceWho

Thank you for your quick answer @FerretBomb ! I did the test again with Game capture this time and the result was the same :( I attached the log file and a screenshot from that test to this message.

This game has been streamed and captured a lot, I may reach out to some of these people to see if any of them used OBS...

Attachments

• 2021-04-10 20-24-41 - game.txt
    44.9 KB · Views: 19
  • screen tearing game capture.jpg
    screen tearing game capture.jpg
    482.2 KB · Views: 51

CeceWho