Question / Help Resolution for non-game screen capture YouTube video

BRW

I'm new to OBS. I want to create a series of 5-10 minute YouTube videos. Each video will be a screen capture alternating between a PowerPoint slide presentation, an Excel spreadsheet, an MS-Access database, a browser (Chrome), etc. I'll run each of those in maximized (full screen) windows and Alt-Tab between them as I record the video. So, each video will be predominantly text with a few Excel charts (no photos, videos or gaming action). I'm using a 24 inch monitor with the Windows-recommended 2560 x 1440 display resolution. When I installed OBS the wizard suggested 1920 x 1080, which I accepted. I'm concerned that people watching one of my YouTube videos may not be able to see what's going on, e.g. if things look too small at their end. I could use Zoomit to zoom in on a portion of my display, but I'm wondering if there's a better option. For example, should I reduce my display resolution to 1920 x 1080 before I begin recording? I'd appreciate any suggestions (or directions to existing How Tos, FAQs, etc.) so I can minimize my trial & error phase.

Sukiyucky

All your YouTube viewers will be using a different physical screen size and resolution. Some will be using smartphones, tablets, computer monitors, and TVs all of different resolutions.

Since you are recording text in Excel and Powerpoint, it is the actual pixel bitmap being captured of the font by OBS. The font won't adapt like it will at various font sizes (not via Bezier curve generation). So if you scale up or down, the font may look blurry, pixelated, not crisp.

To prevent that, don't downscale (or upscale) when recording text applications. Choose a font size that is very readable at that resolution. So if you record at a base canvas resolution of 2560x1440, output at the same 2560x1440 and use a font size of say at least 18 points in Excel/Word/Powepoint so that people won't have to squint.