Occasional Encoding Overload

Zioth

I have been researching this issue for almost two months and still have yet to find a resolution so here I am.

GPU NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060
Processsor i7 5820k
Ram: 32gb

Recording Format: mkv remux to mp4
Encoder: Nvidia NVENC H.264 (new)
Rate Control: CQP
CQ Level: 14, 16, 18, 20 (Have tested various values)
Keryframe Interval: 0 (These are local recordings)
Preset: Max Quality, Quality, Performance and Others. (Tested most of them)
Profile: High and Main both used in tests
Look-ahead: On and Off (tested both)
Psycho Visual Tuning: On
GPU: 0
Max B-Frames: 0, 2, 4 (Tested)

There will be times I can record for an entire hour and no encoding issues. Other times it will be 5, 10, 15 minutes I get some. I have watched my GPU in task manager and I usually am Encoding at 14-16 percent. When the encoding issue happens the Video encode drops for a split second and then back to normal. The problem does not persist constantly. Oddly enough I have tested NVIDIA NVENC H.265/HEVC (via FFmpeg) and when I watch it in the task manager my Video Encode graph runs in the 50's but I never get an encoding issue. I would use it but I am not great with all the settings plus editing the footage was rough in premier.

I am at my wits end with this. I have followed guides, turned settings on and off, always run obs as adminstrator, tested different drives to record to etc. Any help would be great in this matter.

FerretBomb

Turn Psychovisual Tuning and Lookahead OFF.
Use the Quality preset, NOT Max Quality.

All three of those use CUDA cores, which tend to cause erratic/intermittent Encoding Overloaded errors on some configurations. Turning off all three resolves the issue in >99% of cases (I can only think of 1-2 where it didn't, out of hundreds to thousands where it did).

Zioth

Turn Psychovisual Tuning and Lookahead OFF.
Use the Quality preset, NOT Max Quality.