OBS working great, but GPU usage gradually increases over time

syscrusher

Hello, all. I'm new to streaming and OBS, but I've got the program installed and working great on my system, thanks to some excellent documentation. :) This is a terrific app, and I'm finding its workflow is very close to the way I naturally think.

Although I have some general new-user "How do I ___?" questions, I'm going to post those separately to keep this thread focused on the one actual "issue" I'm having: The game becomes laggy after extended streaming times, and pausing the stream resets this problem.

I've been streaming Fallout 76 off and on for about a week, and although it's well-known this game is chock full o' bugs, this issue occurs only when running OBS -- but nothing in the logs or my searches of documentation or these forums has given me an answer yet. Very simply, everything works great at first, with OBS using only about 3 to 8 percent of my GPU (a Quadro RTX 4000 laptop version), but over time the GPU usage gradually ramps up to about 25% or slightly more, at which point the game's FPS rate drops. It seems to be about an hour of runtime, more or less. According to a friend who is an experienced streamer, my streaming output looks fine, with no significant dropped frames.

System config:
  • Dell Precision 7740 with 64 GB RAM and all NVMe SSD storage, 8-core Intel i9 CPU, NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 GPU
  • OBS Studio 64-bit version 25.0.8 running on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit; all Windows and driver updates applied except as noted below
  • NVIDIA driver is version 432.06, not the absolute latest but the one currently recommended by Dell for this machine. I was strongly advised by experts on the Notebook Review forums (which have a pretty high technical expertise level, in the sections devoted to machines of this calibre) that I should use only Dell's recommended NVIDIA driver and not push it to the latest from NVIDIA's web site.