Low Gain in YouTube?

giste

Hello community!
I've been using OBS for professional streaming for many years. I'm quite happy with it, great tool! (I made my donation thou haha)
Nevertheless, I do find an issue while streaming to YouTube from OBS. I have the feeling that the audio is quite low in the streaming compared to the audio levels I monitor in the program.
As far as I know, -10db is a good level for your sound, even less (-15db) but if I stream with this level, the audio in the streaming video on YouTube will be way low. Why is this? It is like it loses some gain on its way from Obs to YouTube, what do you think? I now have to stream with my audio levels almost in 0db but I think that is not a good solution :(

I don't find the problem while recording, just streaming. In fact, I have just listened to my video that has been both recorded and streamed, and I listen to it differently.

Let me know your thoughts. Thanks!

AaronD

As far as I know, -10db is a good level for your sound, even less (-15db)
Is that peak? Or average?

Peak needs to be full-scale, or nearly so. 0dBFS or -1dBFS. Compress and limit to keep it there no matter what, without ever going over. Bad compression settings are clearly audible, but good ones can do that without ever being noticed.

Once you have a compressor setting that sounds good, and puts the peak at full-scale, you'll probably find that the average is about where YouTube wants it as well.

That's the difference between "live" and "broadcast" mentalities. Your "good level" is actually a bit high for "live" - it can still allow an unexpected peak to clip - and definitely low for "broadcast". The compressor translates between the two, usually at the last moment as it goes to the encoder.

giste

Hello Aaron! Thanks for your reply.