29.1.3 Advanced Audio Mixer Channels Grayed Out in Settings

JooosBox

Here's a log, just in case. I'm new to this so Idk if this actually helps: https://obsproject.com/logs/R8f34pZB4eqi7vmr

Basically I'm trying to record three channels separately on the same recording: one for game volume, one for Discord, and one for my mic. I've separated the inputs in the Advanced Audio mixer into their respective channels: 1, 2, and 3. Simple enough, right?

I thought I did it correctly, but I cannot manually select to record channels 1, 2, and 3 in Settings under Output, see below:
1688602797523.png

Each is grayed out and I cannot select one or the other or multiple. Is this a common issue?

Any help appreciated, thanks.

deFrisselle

It's because you have selected Same as Stream for Recording Quality
Choose one of the custom options then you will be able to select the audio tracks

You also have a few other issues

Last edited:

Suslik V

This thread only ensures that Output Mode: Simple is not "simple".

Since the multi-track options were added to the simple mode there is no much sense in use of Output Mode: Simple, better to switch to Output Mode: Advanced and thus learn about OBS a bit more.
I don't know why Simple mode still exist when its 3 quality options (High, Indistinguishable, Lossless) can easily be fitted into Output Mode: Advanced.
Really, why? (almost rhetoric question, doesn't require an answer)

@JooosBox Do you know how to reset OBS settings? (I'm wondering how you see OBS user interface. Is it understandable for you? For example, do you really know how to get OBS default settings?).

koala

Since the multi-track options were added to the simple mode there is no much sense in use of Output Mode: Simple, better to switch to Output Mode: Advanced and thus learn about OBS a bit more.
I don't know why Simple mode still exist