What are the best HD settings for church streaming?

Ojharper

Hi everyone, I run the online stream for my church and I'm an amateur when it comes to OBS. We're currently streaming our services on YouTube using a Canon M50 and the EOS webcam utility via USB.

We've managed to have a smooth stream on 720p, but if we go any higher in the OBS settings the video becomes incredibly choppy.

What are the best settings to get 1080p quality on our steam? It feels like a waste to have a good camera and no utilise it properly.

Thanks in advance.

Ojharper

Hi everyone, I run the online stream for my church and I'm an amateur when it comes to OBS. We're currently streaming our services on YouTube using a Canon M50 and the EOS webcam utility via USB.

We've managed to have a smooth stream on 720p, but if we go any higher in the OBS settings the video becomes incredibly choppy.

What are the best settings to get 1080p quality on our steam? It feels like a waste to have a good camera and no utilise it properly.

Thanks in advance.

For some reason, my initial screenshots didn't attach. Here are my stream and video settings.

Thanks again
Stream-settings.jpg
Video-settings.jpg

Lawrence_SoCal

The issue is the Canon camera and associated software.
That camera is USB2, right? the Canon EOS webcam FAQ specifically mentions limits on resolution, and that if you want higher resolution, you typically need to use a camera with a Clean HDMI output, a HDMI capture device (usually USB) and get the video that way. In that manner, you can get much higher resolution video from the camera.
For reference, I have a Canon 80D and a nice selection of lenses (but no L series glass). I found that none of my lenses would go wide enough, and then zoom in for a pulpit, lectern, alter zoom shot, not to mention low light capability for evening services, etc. So we got a 20X PTZ camera... made a huge difference. but HoW budgets being what they are... making do is a common need.