Question / Help Using one Video Source as Alpha for another?

jashan

I'm new to OBS and would like to use it both for Mixed Reality recording and streaming for a Virtual Reality game that I'm currently developing. The SteamVR Unity plugin has a new feature for this that will render output to four cameras, one in each quadrant of the screen (top left, bottom left, top right, bottom right).

The way this is meant to be used is to use the bottom right as background (that's a full in-game camera that always at the same location as the "Webcam"), then a Webcam with green screen (that records the actual physical player playing the game), and then the in-game camera that only captures things that are in the game world between the Webcam / in-game cam and the player himself.

For the last one, there's one quadrant with the actual footage, and another one with the alpha mask.

So, what I'd need to do is use that alpha mask (from the video) in an alpha mask filter for the actual footage. I did find the alpha mask filter and I think this would be exactly what I need - except that apparently, it only takes images. So while I could use this for a static alpha mask that never changes, there does not seem to be a way to feed another source into that.

Did I only not find this, or is this something that's not possible with OBS (Studio) at all?

RebelPhoton

This is something that is bringing many new people to OBS.

http://steamcommunity.com/app/358720/discussions/0/405694031549662100/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5BmiFIvII7Y

http://uploadvr.com/mixed-reality-videos-get-official-support-with-unity-plug-in/

https://www.vrfocus.com/2016/06/epic-games-developing-mixed-reality-support-for-unreal-engine-4/

The unity plugin right now outputs a four-quadrant render. One on the quadrant is the foreground elements meant to be composited on top of the player's live chroma keyed stream. Another quadrant is the Foreground alpha.