Question / Help [Problem solved] OBS Studio captures a small window instead of fullscreen

Notpopular

Hello everyone,

I'm just getting started with OBS Studio 20.1.3 and with video capturing software in general. I'd like to capture and post video game longplays on Youtube. After I had some difficulties to get OBS working on my Lenovo Laptop because of the black screen issue due do nvidia graphic settings, I solved the problem thanks to a lot of help from this forum as well as other sources on the web.

Unfortunately, even though the video capturing works right now, it doesn't really work when capturing a video game. OBS just captures a small window on the upper left side instead of a fullscreen. The window shows the full screen of the video game but it's very small and not in the center of the file. When I capture my desktop, it just works fine. I tried to upload a video here, but its size is too big to be uploaded here.

Does anyone have some tips for me how to solve this problem? It doesn't matter if its a game which runs on Dosbox, steam, or via a separate installation.

I really appreciate your help. Thanks a lot.

Notpopular

Because I can't upload a video itself I upload a screenshot instead which shows what I mean with "small window instead of fullscreen". Hopefully someone has an idea what to do about it?

Attachments

• Small Screen Problem.jpg
    Small Screen Problem.jpg
    142.7 KB · Views: 16,562

Bugfragged

Go to settings->video, where you can set your base (canvas) resolution and output (scaled) resolution. Do these values match your game's resolution? If not, try setting the base (canvas) resolution to match your game's resolution. The output (scaled) resolution should be set to match the game's resolution too, or at least have the same aspect ratio.

If that doesn't work, there are programs like Avidemux that can crop out the black part and leave only the small window.

Notpopular

Hi Bugfragged,