Possibility of streaming to another PC on the local network

chrisg

Hi folks,

I've been using OBS for a few months now to livestream a weekly Youtube broadcast to our community (typically +/- 50 people) for few months now and I have to say, it's been amazing! I'd never done anything like this before but from the start it's done everything we've wanted to do and the learning curve was pretty easy.

Discovering the Projector was a huge bonus. We use that on a 2nd monitor so those in the "studio" can see what's being sent out on the stream. (i.e. are they still on camera or is it other video/images etc).

What I would like to do (in addition to sending the stream to YT and saving to the local disk) is also send the stream direct to another computer on the network (for monitoring without the delay streaming it from YouTube).

Is that possible? Your thoughts/guidance much appreciated.

Cheers,
Chris.

Lawrence_SoCal

Sure - possible.... but not really the right question to ask
You are already encoding a Projector output. and you now want to duplicate that, and output via the network

so does your PC have the horsepower to encode a new stream? or configure a new plug-in/adapter ?
I could easily be wrong, but outputting OBS's output via USB is a new native v26 feature. You could setup s/w (not native to OBS) to re-direct that output over the LAN. Or use a capture card to take Projector output, and transmit that via the network, and I'm sure there are better ways as well (like NDI) but each has its own pro's & con's... so, it depends.. sorry

I suspect it will help if you mention the resolution/fps/bitrate you are looking at, the network, the distance involved, etc. Specifics about your use case are likely help others provide more tailored responses

chrisg

Thank for the responses.
I'm broadcasting 1080p @ 30fps on a 1Gbps LAN. Distance - too far for USB.