OBS Studio 29 Beta

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fenrir

Forum Admin
Disclaimer: This is a test build, not a full release. This build may contain bugs or broken functionality. For production usage, we still recommend using the latest stable build of OBS. If you are willing to test this build, please let us know if you run into any issues.

OBS Studio 29 Beta is now available for testing! This update adds new AV1 encoder support for supported Intel and AMD GPUs, as well as an upward compressor, 3-band EQ, and HEVC/ProRes support for macOS. As always, there are some tweaks, bugfixes, and other smaller feature updates.
  • Added support for the AMD AV1 Encoder for RDNA3 GPUs [AMD/Jim]
  • Added support for the Intel AV1 Encoder for Arc GPUs [Intel/Jim]
    • Note: CQP is available but not fully supported
  • Added support for the Intel HEVC Encoder [yuriy-chumak/rcdrone/Jim]
  • Added an upward compressor filter [pkv]
  • Added a 3-band equalizer filter [Jim]
  • Added support for native HEVC and ProRes encoders on macOS, including P010 and HDR [Developer-Ecosystem-Engineering/PatTheMav/gxalpha]
  • Added support for macOS Desk View [Developer-Ecosystem-Engineering]
  • Added update channels for opting into receiving beta/release-candidate builds to Windows [Rodney]
    • Work is still underway to get everything ready on the server side, updating via the built-in updater may not be available until later in the OBS 29.0 beta-testing period
Find the the full patch notes and download links for OBS Studio 29 Beta 2 here:
Steam users
: To access the beta via Steam, right-click the OBS Studio entry in Steam or click the cog icon on the game page, select "Properties...", then navigate to "Betas" and select the "beta" option in the dropdown:
1659496483190-png.85265

Flatpak Beta Installation:
Bash:
$ flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub-beta https://flathub.org/beta-repo/flathub-beta.flatpakrepo

$ flatpak install flathub-beta com.obsproject.Studio

Please give the build a try and let us know here or in the #beta-testing channel on Discord if you have any issues. Thanks for your help!
 
Last edited:

Xaymar

Active Member
Not sure if this has already been reported. There is a weird QList::operater[] "index out of range" warning when opening the Recording tab in the advanced output mode. It has no actual effect on functionality, other that being really annoying when a debugger is attached. STR:
  • Install/unpack OBS Studio 29.0.0-beta1
  • Open settings
  • Open Output
  • Set Output Mode to advanced
  • Click Recording
  • If it did not trigger, switch between mkv and mp4 recording format until it happens.
So far this has a 9/10 repro rate for me. I've tried building this version with the "official" Qt 6 binaries, which resulted in this screenshot and stack:
1669677200657.png

Code:
     Qt6Cored.dll!qt_message_fatal(QtMsgType __formal, const QMessageLogContext & context, const QString & message) Line 1910    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QMessageLogger::fatal(const char * msg, ...) Line 851    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!qt_assert_x(const char * where, const char * what, const char * file, int line) Line 3284    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QList<QLayoutStruct>::operator[](__int64 i) Line 429    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QFormLayoutPrivate::setupHfwLayoutData() Line 517    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QFormLayoutPrivate::recalcHFW(int w) Line 463    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QFormLayout::setGeometry(const QRect & rect) Line 1758    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QLayoutPrivate::doResize() Line 509    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QLayout::activate() Line 1057    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QWidgetPrivate::setVisible(bool visible) Line 8239    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QWidget::setVisible(bool visible) Line 8196    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QWidgetPrivate::_q_showIfNotHidden() Line 8313    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QWidget::qt_static_metacall(QObject * _o, QMetaObject::Call _c, int _id, void * * _a) Line 724    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QMetaCallEvent::placeMetaCall(QObject * object) Line 611    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QObject::event(QEvent * e) Line 1378    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QWidget::event(QEvent * event) Line 9262    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QFrame::event(QEvent * e) Line 515    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QLabel::event(QEvent * e) Line 997    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 3315    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QApplication::notify(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 3262    C++
     obs64.exe!OBSApp::notify(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 1838    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QCoreApplication::notifyInternal2(QObject * receiver, QEvent * event) Line 1026    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QCoreApplication::sendEvent(QObject * receiver, QEvent * event) Line 1443    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents(QObject * receiver, int event_type, QThreadData * data) Line 1804    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QEventDispatcherWin32::sendPostedEvents() Line 894    C++
     Qt6Guid.dll!QWindowsGuiEventDispatcher::sendPostedEvents() Line 44    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QEventDispatcherWin32::processEvents(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 464    C++
>    Qt6Guid.dll!QWindowsGuiEventDispatcher::processEvents(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 36    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QEventLoop::processEvents(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 101    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 182    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QDialog::exec() Line 586    C++
     obs64.exe!OBSBasic::on_action_Settings_triggered() Line 4911    C++
     obs64.exe!OBSBasic::on_settingsButton_clicked() Line 7780    C++
     obs64.exe!OBSBasic::qt_static_metacall(QObject * _o, QMetaObject::Call _c, int _id, void * * _a) Line 2604    C++
     obs64.exe!OBSBasic::qt_metacall(QMetaObject::Call _c, int _id, void * * _a) Line 2794    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QMetaObject::metacall(QObject * object, QMetaObject::Call cl, int idx, void * * argv) Line 289    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!doActivate<0>(QObject * sender, int signal_index, void * * argv) Line 4001    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QMetaObject::activate(QObject * sender, const QMetaObject * m, int local_signal_index, void * * argv) Line 4033    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QAbstractButton::clicked(bool _t1) Line 369    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QAbstractButtonPrivate::emitClicked() Line 381    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QAbstractButtonPrivate::click() Line 373    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QAbstractButton::mouseReleaseEvent(QMouseEvent * e) Line 974    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QWidget::event(QEvent * event) Line 8826    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QAbstractButton::event(QEvent * e) Line 931    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QPushButton::event(QEvent * e) Line 687    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 3315    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QApplication::notify(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 2803    C++
     obs64.exe!OBSApp::notify(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 1838    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QCoreApplication::notifyInternal2(QObject * receiver, QEvent * event) Line 1026    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QCoreApplication::sendSpontaneousEvent(QObject * receiver, QEvent * event) Line 1457    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QApplicationPrivate::sendMouseEvent(QWidget * receiver, QMouseEvent * event, QWidget * alienWidget, QWidget * nativeWidget, QWidget * * buttonDown, QPointer<QWidget> & lastMouseReceiver, bool spontaneous, bool onlyDispatchEnterLeave) Line 2387    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QWidgetWindow::handleMouseEvent(QMouseEvent * event) Line 625    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QWidgetWindow::event(QEvent * event) Line 242    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 3315    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QApplication::notify(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 3266    C++
     obs64.exe!OBSApp::notify(QObject * receiver, QEvent * e) Line 1838    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QCoreApplication::notifyInternal2(QObject * receiver, QEvent * event) Line 1026    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QCoreApplication::sendSpontaneousEvent(QObject * receiver, QEvent * event) Line 1457    C++
     Qt6Guid.dll!QGuiApplicationPrivate::processMouseEvent(QWindowSystemInterfacePrivate::MouseEvent * e) Line 2250    C++
     Qt6Guid.dll!QGuiApplicationPrivate::processWindowSystemEvent(QWindowSystemInterfacePrivate::WindowSystemEvent * e) Line 1999    C++
     Qt6Guid.dll!QWindowSystemInterface::sendWindowSystemEvents(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 1109    C++
     Qt6Guid.dll!QWindowsGuiEventDispatcher::sendPostedEvents() Line 45    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QEventDispatcherWin32::processEvents(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 464    C++
     Qt6Guid.dll!QWindowsGuiEventDispatcher::processEvents(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 36    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QEventLoop::processEvents(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 101    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<enum QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag> flags) Line 182    C++
     Qt6Cored.dll!QCoreApplication::exec() Line 1347    C++
     Qt6Guid.dll!QGuiApplication::exec() Line 1860    C++
     Qt6Widgetsd.dll!QApplication::exec() Line 2596    C++
     obs64.exe!run_program(std::basic_fstream<char,std::char_traits<char>> & logFile, int argc, char * * argv) Line 2460    C++
     obs64.exe!main(int argc, char * * argv) Line 3347    C++
     obs64.exe!WinMain(HINSTANCE__ * __formal, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, char * __formal, int __formal) Line 50    C++
     obs64.exe!invoke_main() Line 107    C++
     obs64.exe!__scrt_common_main_seh() Line 288    C++
     obs64.exe!__scrt_common_main() Line 331    C++
     obs64.exe!WinMainCRTStartup(void * __formal) Line 17    C++
     kernel32.dll!00007fff9b12244d()    Unknown
     ntdll.dll!00007fff9c04dfb8()    Unknown

I'm unsure if this is a Qt6 bug or an OBS Studio bug.
 

RytoEX

Forum Admin
Forum Moderator
Developer
Not sure if this has already been reported. There is a weird QList::operater[] "index out of range" warning when opening the Recording tab in the advanced output mode. It has no actual effect on functionality, other that being really annoying when a debugger is attached. STR:
  • Install/unpack OBS Studio 29.0.0-beta1
  • Open settings
  • Open Output
  • Set Output Mode to advanced
  • Click Recording
  • If it did not trigger, switch between mkv and mp4 recording format until it happens.
So far this has a 9/10 repro rate for me. I've tried building this version with the "official" Qt 6 binaries, which resulted in this screenshot and stack:

<snip>

I'm unsure if this is a Qt6 bug or an OBS Studio bug.

This was observed in pre-beta testing internally, but it only occurs in Debug builds, which should not affect end users. We elected to bump Qt for the beta to see if we can determine the cause and produce a fix during the beta period, as we would not be changing deps after the beta had started except for critical bug fixes or rollbacks.
 

Xaymar

Active Member
This was observed in pre-beta testing internally, but it only occurs in Debug builds, which should not affect end users. We elected to bump Qt for the beta to see if we can determine the cause and produce a fix during the beta period, as we would not be changing deps after the beta had started except for critical bug fixes or rollbacks.
For the time being I've commented out line 4754 (setWordWrap()), which triggers the problem. Sadly couldn't figure out why this happens, but it appears to be caused by Qt6 itself, and not by OBS Studio.

Edit: To explain why I believe this to be triggered by Qt6, the QFormLayout hfwLayouts should be of size 11, but is of size 10 only. Somehow it skipped counting the necessary entry for the QLabel widget that gets added, but only if it is set to Word-wrap.
 

RytoEX

Forum Admin
Forum Moderator
Developer
For the time being I've commented out line 4754 (setWordWrap()), which triggers the problem. Sadly couldn't figure out why this happens, but it appears to be caused by Qt6 itself, and not by OBS Studio.

Edit: To explain why I believe this to be triggered by Qt6, the QFormLayout hfwLayouts should be of size 11, but is of size 10 only. Somehow it skipped counting the necessary entry for the QLabel widget that gets added, but only if it is set to Word-wrap.
That is a useful hint for us to look into. Thank you.
 

TheGameMechanics

New Member
Not sure what additional information I should give, but will try my best - ask for anything that is lacking/missing:

I have updated to OBS 29 to test it and the first thing I noticed was that the OBS Virtual Cam button, while it does let me start and stop it, does nothing. I've checked in various other programs (discord, Skype, etc) and it's a black screen when I select OBS Virtual Camera. I've not got any other virtual camera plugins (Exeldros Virtual Cam filter, for example) installed, and it works in OBS 27.
 
When can we expect the new version to go live? Sometimes my computer (windows 11) crashes with the 28.1.2 version because of using to much CPU
 

RytoEX

Forum Admin
Forum Moderator
Developer
Not sure what additional information I should give, but will try my best - ask for anything that is lacking/missing:

I have updated to OBS 29 to test it and the first thing I noticed was that the OBS Virtual Cam button, while it does let me start and stop it, does nothing. I've checked in various other programs (discord, Skype, etc) and it's a black screen when I select OBS Virtual Camera. I've not got any other virtual camera plugins (Exeldros Virtual Cam filter, for example) installed, and it works in OBS 27.
OBS 29.0.0 Beta 1 Virtual Camera works fine in Discord for me. Please provide a log file and detailed steps to reproduce the issue. Please note that the virtual camera may not work with portable zip installations unless you uninstall and reinstall the virtual camera DLLs.

When can we expect the new version to go live? Sometimes my computer (windows 11) crashes with the 28.1.2 version because of using to much CPU
We don't currently provide public release dates. If you are having issues with OBS Studio 28.x, please seek assistance in the OBS Studio Support section of the forum or on our Discord server.
 

Nightcrawla

New Member
Hey all! I'm running OBS Beta 29 in portable mode, but having issues with Quicksync AV1 Recording... It fails to record with this message.
OBSBeta29AV1 Fail.png

Mind you I can record with all of the other encoders just fine without that message popping up, Only with Quicksync AV1 is the problem.
It won't record 90% of the time unless I change the output file format. Sometimes it will work with outputting to mkv, but most of the time not, and the same goes for mp4, sometimes it will record, most of the time not, unless I switch between file formats constantly will I be able to record.
In my system I'm running 2 graphics cards. In my main top slot is an Intel Arc A380 hooked up to my displays, and in the second pcie slot a Nvidia GTX 1660 with no displays hooked up to it. Before the beta was released I compiled a build of OBS with Intels AV1 additions on github. I to am running that in portable mode with no issues recording in AV1 only this beta build I'm having the issues.
Intel Arc Driver: 31.0.101.3802
Nvidia Studio Driver: 526.98
Windows 11 Pro 22H2
Log File: https://obsproject.com/logs/0KHLMvKu6NFeKWF-
and ofcourse I'm attaching the log file that should have successful starts of AV1 recording and the fails of it starting as well. Thank You so much for such a great program. You guys are awesome for working on it for so many years.
 

Attachments

  • 2022-11-30 00-54-15.txt
    19.1 KB · Views: 51

RytoEX

Forum Admin
Forum Moderator
Developer
Hey all! I'm running OBS Beta 29 in portable mode, but having issues with Quicksync AV1 Recording... It fails to record with this message.

Mind you I can record with all of the other encoders just fine without that message popping up, Only with Quicksync AV1 is the problem.
It won't record 90% of the time unless I change the output file format. Sometimes it will work with outputting to mkv, but most of the time not, and the same goes for mp4, sometimes it will record, most of the time not, unless I switch between file formats constantly will I be able to record.
Thank you for the feedback! Instead of changing the file format, have you tried waiting a minute or two (or several), changing nothing, and then trying to record again? I've run into a similar issue when making multiple short recordings very quickly, but I seem to be able to record again after the error has occurred if I just wait.

In my system I'm running 2 graphics cards. In my main top slot is an Intel Arc A380 hooked up to my displays, and in the second pcie slot a Nvidia GTX 1660 with no displays hooked up to it. Before the beta was released I compiled a build of OBS with Intels AV1 additions on github. I to am running that in portable mode with no issues recording in AV1 only this beta build I'm having the issues.
There were some changes between the PR and the final result that was merged into OBS for this beta release. We will be making iterative fixes during this beta period to hopefully address all such issues.
 

Nightcrawla

New Member
Good Afternoon everyone, I've redownloaded a fresh version of the OBS 29 Beta. Using only one scene and 3 sources, AvermediaLiveGamer4k CapCard, Default Desktop Audio (Digital Optical Out from motherboard), and a USB Line-In source. I'm still getting the random aforementioned "Failed to start recording" message popup when trying to record with Quicksync AV1 and now even get a random OBS crash when trying to start recording with Quicksync H.264.

Thank you for the feedback! Instead of changing the file format, have you tried waiting a minute or two (or several), changing nothing, and then trying to record again? I've run into a similar issue when making multiple short recordings very quickly, but I seem to be able to record again after the error has occurred if I just wait.
Thank you for the reply! This time around I did do what you suggested. Instead of changing file formats (I left it on mp4 for output), I've waited a couple of minutes between starting a record without changing any file format. I still have the same result where it will randomly allow me to start recording, or fail to start. Below I will leave another Log showing a successful start of the Quicksync AV1 encoder, a successful start of the Quicksync H.264 encoder, then failed starts from the QS-AV1 encoder followed by a successful start of the AV1 encoder (after waiting a few minutes of receiving the failed to start popup), followed by the eventual crash of OBS when switching back to starting a record using the QS-H.264 encoder. Will attach crash log as well.

There were some changes between the PR and the final result that was merged into OBS for this beta release. We will be making iterative fixes during this beta period to hopefully address all such issues.
I have no issues using the build with the PR additions. I can switch in between file formats and any encoder without any popup messages or crashes. I can run a log for that if you guys are interested. I don't want to be a pest or anything... maybe it might just be my system? I don't see anyone else really posting on here with the same problems with this beta. Maybe they are on github, I haven't looked yet tbh.

Disclaimer: That build was my very first time compiling something from github so there are a few things left out then what is in the beta, maybe a whole lot lol, I wouldn't know just glancing at it. It doesn't have VirtualCam (Intentionally left it out) and I also noticed it doesn't have an option to add a browser source in my scenes (not sure why). I was just happy to be able to test/record Intel's AV1!
Again thank you all for the brilliant work you do.
 

Attachments

  • 2022-12-01 13-06-22.txt
    18 KB · Views: 41
  • Crash 2022-12-01 13-35-15.txt
    86.6 KB · Views: 37

Nightcrawla

New Member
In context here is the log file from my (first time) build of OBS using the PR/Commit additions for Intel AV1 support. (I know you said there where other changes made in from the PR to the beta release) Just wanted to add in another log from another OBS build in case you guys may see something different. I won't be a pest anymore I promise lol!

1) OBS Base Version 28.1.2
2) Added PR/Commit additions from here: obs-studio-5987f42497de18b23cbe8b0841c2a603a2d7c67e.zip
3) Then compiled using the Wiki-build Guide
This build again doesn't have VirtualCam (Intentional) and no option to add a browser source in my scenes (unintentional)

In this log you will see this is the exact order I ran the test recordings with mp4 being set as the output for all of them.
(Quicksync-AV1 | Quicksync-H.264 | CPU SVT-AV1 P10 | NVENC P7 | CPU x264 Medium | Quicksync-AV1 | Quicksync-H.264 | Quicksync-AV1 | Quicksync-H.264)

No QS-H.264 OBS crashes, no failed to start popups from QS-AV1, using multiple encoders back to back all in one OBS session. Hope this helps in someway. Much appreciated.

Edit: If this is not what you need and if there is anything specific you would like me to test, just let me know... I've got the time.
 

Attachments

  • 2022-12-01 14-57-57.txt
    30.7 KB · Views: 53
Last edited:

Fenrir

Forum Admin
Beta 2 has been released! This includes changes that were causing issues with QSV (including AV1 support).

Please updated to Beta 2 if you were having issues with QSV and let us know if they are resolved or still an issue. Thanks!
 

RytoEX

Forum Admin
Forum Moderator
Developer
Good Afternoon everyone, I've redownloaded a fresh version of the OBS 29 Beta. Using only one scene and 3 sources, AvermediaLiveGamer4k CapCard, Default Desktop Audio (Digital Optical Out from motherboard), and a USB Line-In source. I'm still getting the random aforementioned "Failed to start recording" message popup when trying to record with Quicksync AV1 and now even get a random OBS crash when trying to start recording with Quicksync H.264.
Redownloading OBS Studio 29 Beta 1 is unlikely to change the behavior. You would need to wait until new beta versions are available or test new builds from CI. Beta 2 is now available, so you should retest in that.

Thank you for the reply! This time around I did do what you suggested. Instead of changing file formats (I left it on mp4 for output), I've waited a couple of minutes between starting a record without changing any file format. I still have the same result where it will randomly allow me to start recording, or fail to start. Below I will leave another Log showing a successful start of the Quicksync AV1 encoder, a successful start of the Quicksync H.264 encoder, then failed starts from the QS-AV1 encoder followed by a successful start of the AV1 encoder (after waiting a few minutes of receiving the failed to start popup), followed by the eventual crash of OBS when switching back to starting a record using the QS-H.264 encoder.
Let's focus on one thing at a time. No switching encoders. No switching file formats. Just start with AV1, and keep trying AV1 until it doesn't work. Then wait, then periodically keep trying to see if it starts working again.

I have no issues using the build with the PR additions. I can switch in between file formats and any encoder without any popup messages or crashes. I can run a log for that if you guys are interested. I don't want to be a pest or anything... maybe it might just be my system? I don't see anyone else really posting on here with the same problems with this beta. Maybe they are on github, I haven't looked yet tbh.
As I mentioned myself, I've run into a similar issue when making multiple short recordings very quickly, but I seem to be able to record again after the error has occurred if I just wait. It's not just you. Some people report items privately to us rather than publicly, and perhaps there is not a large intersection of "people with AV1 capable Intel GPUs" and "people testing OBS Studio 29 Beta releases" and "people who want to report issues". Don't worry about this point.

Disclaimer: That build was my very first time compiling something from github so there are a few things left out then what is in the beta, maybe a whole lot lol, I wouldn't know just glancing at it. It doesn't have VirtualCam (Intentionally left it out) and I also noticed it doesn't have an option to add a browser source in my scenes (not sure why). I was just happy to be able to test/record Intel's AV1!
Again thank you all for the brilliant work you do.
Generally speaking, you can just use our build scripts instead of manually building yourself. VirtualCam will still be missing, but everything else should work out of the box. You can also just download builds from GitHub PRs that are labeled "Seeking Testers" without building yourself.

In context here is the log file from my (first time) build of OBS using the PR/Commit additions for Intel AV1 support. (I know you said there where other changes made in from the PR to the beta release) Just wanted to add in another log from another OBS build in case you guys may see something different. I won't be a pest anymore I promise lol!

1) OBS Base Version 28.1.2
2) Added PR/Commit additions from here: obs-studio-5987f42497de18b23cbe8b0841c2a603a2d7c67e.zip
3) Then compiled using the Wiki-build Guide
This build again doesn't have VirtualCam (Intentional) and no option to add a browser source in my scenes (unintentional)

In this log you will see this is the exact order I ran the test recordings with mp4 being set as the output for all of them.
(Quicksync-AV1 | Quicksync-H.264 | CPU SVT-AV1 P10 | NVENC P7 | CPU x264 Medium | Quicksync-AV1 | Quicksync-H.264 | Quicksync-AV1 | Quicksync-H.264)

No QS-H.264 OBS crashes, no failed to start popups from QS-AV1, using multiple encoders back to back all in one OBS session. Hope this helps in someway. Much appreciated.

Edit: If this is not what you need and if there is anything specific you would like me to test, just let me know... I've got the time.
This was already known, but thank you for the data nonetheless.

As posted above, Beta 2 is now out with some fixes. Please check if that fixes any of the issues that you observed.
 

Nightcrawla

New Member
Beta 2 did resolve all the issues I was having with QSV. No more QSV-AV1 Failing to start, and no OBS crash with QSV-H.264. Even though it was all Jim's fault :p you guys nailed my problems for sure. You guys are legends.

RytoEX thx so much for your inputs, and yes waiting after my short records on beta 1 would eventually allow me to start an AV1 record again. You were spot on with that. Thank you all so much.​


Generally speaking, you can just use our build scripts instead of manually building yourself. VirtualCam will still be missing, but everything else should work out of the box. You can also just download builds from GitHub PRs that are labeled "Seeking Testers" without building yourself.

I did not know this, thx for the information!​

 

bc9448

New Member
See Forums > Development > General Development #post-594522 "VLC Playlist Shuffle" for original.

When using the VLC program, if you make a playlist and choose, "Repeat" + "Shuffle", it plays the video once and reshuffles before playing again.
In stable 28.1.2 and 29.beta-2 builds, the only time the VLS playlist is shuffled is when the <ok> button is pressed in the "VLC Video Source Properties". It is desirable to have the Shuffle and Loop work similar to the stand-alone player.

1670020256568.png
 

RytoEX

Forum Admin
Forum Moderator
Developer
Thank you for the feedback. The button in VLC is actually labeled "Random", not "Shuffle", though it does operate more like "Shuffle" (play each item in a list in randomized order once until the list is exhausted). This sounds like GitHub Issue 3597, where we concluded that this is working as designed, and that changes to the behavior would be a feature request. A feature request was subsequently opened here.
 

derthaller

New Member
Hey, i got my RTX 4080 and i tried to use the NVENC AV1 Encoder.
But as soon as i hit Recording i got the prompt:

1670073096711.png


This happend on the OBS V 29 and OBS V 28.
I DDU bevor installing the new Card and tried the Game and Studio Driver Version of Geforce Expirience.
 

Attachments

  • 2022-12-03 14-03-47.txt
    16.9 KB · Views: 65
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top