OBS opened causes 30+ fps drops in-game with stream on/off

dhekos

Hey there, as the title says having OBS open causes a huge fps drop in-game.

Example:

FPS drops below 100 when Opened.

FPS consistently over 140 when Closed.

I'm at my wits end with this, any idea what causes this?

My specs:

3700x
16gb DDR
750W PSU
M2 1TB SSD

Log is here: https://pastebin.com/f0Y3jjxZ

dhekos

1 22:48:51.271: Malwarebytes: disabled (AV) -> deinstall it Windos defender make this job

and when you stream set the FPS to 120 with 144 you have to many frames the numer of frames must be / 30

have you test Nvec with an 3080 its runs like a charm

Malwarebytes is never running when gaming, and I am currently utilizing NVENC.

Lawrence_SoCal

I'm not an OBS expert, so don't take this response as being authoritative.
But hopefully you realize that doing window or screen capture, rendering to the OBS screen, possibly twice if using Studio mode, then encoding for streaming is REALLY demanding on a computer. Make that SUPER demanding Granted you have a upper-end GPU, but there are still internal memory transfer and other I/O constraints, and you are re-scaling on top of things. Seeing your are at Win10 v2004 not sure the differing monitor refresh rates issue applies to your situation.. I think not, but...

Anyways, you post doesn't summarize what you've already tried so not sure how much of the following is obvious, or??

How busy is the CPU, GPU, RAM, disk, network and other I/O when gaming and OBS not running? How many plug-ins are you running in OBS? How optimized is your OBS setup? ie- do you have enough headroom to be running OBS?
For testing purposes, Have you tried keeping Base and output resolution the same (= the monitor you are capturing), and rescaling on Stream output?

Lawrence_SoCal