Question / Help OBS Dropping MASSIVE frames all of a sudden

FrankyPro

So I'm very new to OBS and recording in general, but I got OBS Studio a few months ago, and watched some videos and talked with friends and they helped me set up good settings.

I was recording REALLY high quality good footage for a while, at 40k bitrate! (Which I only recently found out was very high)

A couple weeks ago, I started recording some overwatch and noticed in the recording that I was dropping MASSIVE frames, especially at parts where lots was going on. Now, I didn't change ANY settings and the ONLY thing that happened since then, was my hard drive started to fill up. (both of them). I made plenty of space on them, but I'm still having the same problem, but worse. I changed my in game settings to medium on MULTIPLE games and changed to 16k 12k and even 10k bitrate, 30 fps, and was still having problems. I defragged my computer too, and I THOUGHT the problem was solved at 16k bitrate, but I went back and noticed that I am still having the issue.

https://gist.github.com/d3c501abc22b823deb64d699c2cf84c1 I think this is my most recent log?

There could be something I STUPIDLY changed by accident or something, (again, really not sure how most of this works) but I would appreciate the help!

OH and in GAME I don't really have problems... I sometimes have quick 2 second freezes once every like hour or so but the lag only occurs in recordings

Last edited:
dont use CBR for recording, switch to CRF=23
enable vsync in game
i strongly recommend enabling your intel HD in bios and using quicksync icq=23, you will free cpu power this way

FrankyPro

What's the difference between CBR and CRF=23?

Also Ok, I can enable Vsync. But any ideas WHY this all of a sudden happened?

And are there any downsides to enabling my intel HD in bios and using quicksync icq=23? (haha again i'll figuer out HOW to do this stuff just no idea how it woks and why)