All Versions How to use Quicksync?

Quickly explained how to activate and setup everything to use QuickSync

  1. Jack0r The Helping Squad

    Moderator

    Jack0r submitted a new resource:

    How to use Quicksync? - Quickly explained how to activate and setup everything to use QuickSync

    Read more about this resource...
    cookiemonster likes this.
  2. Jaxel Well-Known Member

    What advantages/disadvantages does QuickSync have over using the X264 encoder?
  3. dodgepong Administrator

    Admin

    Advantage: Uses dedicated GPU to do h264 encoding, drastically reducing CPU usage.
    Disadvantage: Somewhat lower quality video than x264
  4. kryteris Member

    I have a G3258 x44 @ 4.4Ghz, the igpu is intel HD, Does the quick sync *quality improve with a beefier igpu? My GPUz info here: http://imgur.com/OSaKHsm

    The intel HD gpu description can be found here: http://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/2467/hd-graphics.html -- It look's like it has a frequency of 350 MHz, which can be boosted up to 1250 MHz, so it should be able to match or exceed the performance of the HD 3000. The thing is I do not know if quicksync improves with a better igpu, newer instruction set, or additional threads/cores? My experience benchmarking here was not that great: http://www.twitch.tv/mmobytes/c/4980769

    So far the G3258 has been a dream upgrading from an Athlon II x4, ..until I tested the quicksync quality.
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2014
  5. Jack0r The Helping Squad

    Moderator

    Well, its unfortunately a bit complicated with QuickSync, as far as I remember from Sandy to Ivy Bridge Intel mainly improved the performance of QuickSync, from Ivy Bridge to Haswell now they improved the Quality.
    But I have no real information about the differences inside each generation. I know even an Sandy Bridge i3 (mobile processor) can do 720p quick sync just fine, but not at a good quality for streaming. On my Haswell i7 the quality improved quite a bit, but it has the second highest iGPU version inside, the hd 4600. I think the hd 5200 is currently the best you can get from intel and was supposed to have the best quicksync performance (not sure if quality). (If I remember correct you can barely get this version for desktop CPU's anyway)
    You can probably find benchmarks and even quality tests, but I could not find a real comparison between the different iGPU's :(. So I can only talk from experience mainly.
  6. kryteris Member

    @Jack0r I was more comparing the quality of the video, less pixelation, noise. Do you have a sample video, on twitch preferably so that I can compare?
  7. Jack0r The Helping Squad

    Moderator

    I only made a quick comparison once between x264 veryfast and haswell quicksync on my hd 4600 graphics chip:
    http://jack0r.com/high/quicksync_x264.html
    The video unfortunately hit the download limit and cant be downloaded anymore :/ Some of the videos on my channel are done with quicksync too but I never marked them. I remembered one of the Batman videos was QuickSync but I couldnt find it in a quick search.
    But I can probably record you something later, are you looking for a special scenario? Bitrate/Resolution? Or comparing a certain preset?
  8. kryteris Member

    @Jack0r The default twitch settings I believe is what I had, 720p @ 2500 or 1080p @3500. Veryfast, and high quality on quicksync.. thx.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014
  9. FortuN Member

    Isn't it with both Nvenc and Quick sync that it just doesen't utilizes the power to the maximum? I mean that if i for example are using Nvenc, it would not use all my power of my Graphic card, just some % of it. Why? It is the same thing with quick sync i guess. For my part, since im not using the IGPU, i would like the quick sync to use all of the power in it to make it better motion quality without pixelration
  10. Jack0r The Helping Squad

    Moderator

    Oh they use as much as they can, but as far as I understood it, both nvenc and quicksync use dedicated parts of the chip or even their own chip. And its also possible, because of the different architecture of a GPU that parts of the GPU cannot be used for video-encoding because they are meant for different calculations.
    The quality differences in the quicksync generations also show this to some extent, but to give you better examples (I have not forgotten you @kryteris but I was busy) I will try to do the example vids as soon as possible.

    From the tech side, simplified, I can say, QuickSync gen 1 did not support optimization A or B because the chip was not designed for those. For gen 2 they added optimization A, for Intel this meant they mainly optimized the speed, for gen 3 of quicksync they added optimization B, which for Intel were quite a few features you already knew from x264. Mechanisms to compress the image better. Handle B/P/I Frames, etc. But they could not add optimization A or B using a driver, they had to do it in the next generation.
  11. Jack0r The Helping Squad

    Moderator

    Just recorded 5 minutes of BF4 footage and then recorded that with those settings:

    720p 30fps 2500 bitrate CBR and CFR
    1080p 30fps 3500 bitrate CBR and CFR

    QuickSync High Quality
    X264 very fast
    AMD VCE default

    Haswell QuickSync on an i7 4770
    AMD VCE on a HD7850

    https://www.mediafire.com/folder/v51q0utz201ah/Videoencoder
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2014
  12. vocas New Member

    Hi, I am little bit confused... I have desktop with disabled intel HD 4600 inside of my CPU + GTX 760 GPU... Should I be able to use both at same time? I would love to use GTX for game while HD4600 would take load off for streaming. Is this possible?
  13. Jack0r The Helping Squad

    Moderator

    To use QuickSync the iGPU (HD4600) has to be active, yes. But you should be able to use QuickSync without having to connect a Monitor to it. It depends on your mainboard (as shown in the guide) but if you can activate the Multi-GPU function, or whatever it is called in your Bios, you should be able to use QuickSync while keeping your normal GTX 760 running for everything else.
    One more thing though, you can also use NVenc on that GPU, although the QS quality might be a bit better, try both if you have time :)
  14. zhuh Member

    Can anyone help? when i try to add the 3rd display as extended screen i get a error about the graphics being unresponsive then my desktop goes black and my pc crashes
  15. kozeetje Active Member

    I got random stream freezes for like 4 seconds when I use quicksync, no probs with nvenc & x264
  16. Carefoot Member

    Sorry I cannot set up this on my i7 3770K x Z77X-UP4TH I just updated my bios and, I still cannot see the Multi-GPU option it has different ones on the Gigabyte menu. I tried installing several of the drivers in the video, but none of them want to run on my Windows 7 64 Ultimate...

    The driver which is suppose to support HD 4000 video graphics on board with my i7 but, its not showing up on the installer it only reads
    Code
    README FILE
    
    
    Release Version: Production Version
    
    Driver Version: 15.33.35.64.4176
    
    Operating System(s): 
    
    Microsoft Windows* 7 64
    Microsoft Windows* 8.1 64
    Microsoft Windows* 10 64 Beta
    
    Release Date: March 30, 2015
    
    
    CONTENTS
    
    I.    Product Support
    II.    Installation Information
    III.    Disclaimer
    IV.    Important Note
    
    
    I.  Product Support
    
    
    Supports Intel(R) Iris(TM) graphics, Intel(R) Iris(TM) Pro graphics and Intel(R) HD graphics on:
    
        3rd Generation Intel(R) Core(TM) Processor family
        Intel(R) Pentium(R) N3510/ 3520 Processor
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) N2810/ 2820 Processor
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) N2910/ 2920 Processor
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) N2805/ N2806 Processor
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) N2815 Processor
        Intel(R) Pentium(R) J2850/ J2900 Processor
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) J1850/ J1900 Processor
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) J1750/ J1800 Processor
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) Pentium QC (N3520)1
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) QC (N2920)1
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) DC (N2820)1
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) DC (N2806)1
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) DC (N2815)1
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) QC (J2900)1
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) QC (J1900)1
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) DC (J1800)1
        Intel(R) Pentium(R) QC N3540
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) QC N2940
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) DC N2840
        Intel(R) Celeron(R) DC N2808
               
    
    II.  Installation Information    
    
    This document makes references to products developed by Intel. There are some restrictions on how these products may be used, and what information may be disclosed to others. Please read the Disclaimer section and contact your Intel field representative if you would like more information.
    
    III.  Disclaimer
    
    Intel is making no claims of usability, efficacy or warranty. The INTEL SOFTWARE LICENSE AGREEMENT contained herein completely defines the license and use of this software.
    
    This document contains information on products in the design phase of development. The information here is subject to change without notice. Do not finalize a design with this information.
    
    IV.  Important Note
    
    Your computer is configured to run the WinSAT* test, which determines whether the computer can support the Windows Aero* desktop theme. The test will run after this driver is installed and the computer is restarted. If your computer can support it, the Windows Aero desktop theme will automatically be enabled.
    
    This test will take approximately 10 seconds.
    
    *Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.
    
    
    Copyright (C) 2015 Intel Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    Click through the installer, and it says this operating system is not supported. Do I upgrade to Windows 8 or is there an easier option?

    edit: They removed the documentation for it here https://downloadcenter.intel.com/do...ics-4000-2500-Supported-Operating-Systems-FAQ

    and here is where the file should be:
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/se...Core™+Processors+with+Intel®+HD+Graphics+4000

    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24826/Intel-HD-Graphics-Driver-for-Windows-7-8-8-1-64-bit

    Shit doesn't work. I also don't see an option to enable iGpu on my mobo settings it just lets me change the type of video mode and, I don't understand any of the abbreviations it uses. Acronyms are a cancer.
  17. Jack0r The Helping Squad

    Moderator

    Hmm only thing I found in the manual would be Bios -> Peripherals -> Internal Graphics -> Set to Enabled. Init Display First should probably be set to PEG.
    You might want to connect a real Monitor to the iGPU for testing (but keep one connected to your normal graphics card as well). And see if these drivers work:

    And these drivers should be correct, the ones you posted too:
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24826/Intel-HD-Graphics-Driver-for-Windows-7-8-8-1-64-bit
    In general quicksync should work under win7 similar to win8.
  18. 41nd Member

    Windows 10 made the monitor trick obsolete.
  19. FortuN Member

    I had alot of problems with getting quicksync to work on my computer with obs. The thing i found out was that i needed a BIOS update and then it all was fine.

    Asus p8z77-V motherboard with 3570k
  20. Jack0r The Helping Squad

    Moderator

    On my Sandybridge i5 2500k I still need a Monitor connected to the igpu, haven't tried the option to use a fake monitor, but without an active monitor I could not use QuickSync.