Bug Report GameCapture crashes DOOM 3

KynikossDragonn

New Member
I tested this on v0.541b (the version I used to stream Cataclysm until the latest test release fixed that particular game) and the v0.54.05 network/gc test. Both instances causes the game to bomb with the typical windows error dialog: "DOOM3.EXE has stopped working."

The log for the hook shows only this:
Code:
2013-07-26, 11:15:15: we're booting up: 
11:15:16: NV Capture available
11:15:16: FBO available
11:15:16: GL Present
11:15:16: (half life scientist) everything..  seems to be in order
11:15:16: SwapBuffers(1577132609) Called
11:15:16: setting up gl data
11:15:16: share device: 198916820
11:15:16: share texture: 198428408
11:15:16: share device handle: 293932888
11:15:16: share texture handle: 294741264
11:15:16: DoGLGPUHook: success
11:15:16: wglSwapBuffers(1577132609) Called

It ends at wglSwapBuffers. I searched the forum and this seems to be unreported, people who stream DOOM 3 apparently stream it on the consoles rather than the PC for some odd reason...
 

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
Actually when I said this at the time, something else had come up, and it ended up unintentionally buried in my list of things to do, I'll definitely take a look at it today
 

KynikossDragonn

New Member
Someone on Twitch told me that to stream this using gamecapture I have to keep my base resolution and the game's resolution the same to each other.

I haven't tried this but this prevents me from having my twitch chat beside the game. (I stream my games at 1024x768 while using 1366x768 as a base resolution which leaves enough room for the Twitch chat to be captured by window capture)
 

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
I did check this out yesterday - and I think it may have been fixed in the latest test. Could you guys try it out?
 
Nope, not fixed. Tried the latest test build with custom and base game resolutions. Still crashes the game when previewing stream and trying to stream.
 

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
Strange, it worked on my machine. What video card do you use?
 

KynikossDragonn

New Member
I can conform also the latest test build doesn't work.

I'm running a Radeon HD 6870.

Code:
Driver Packaging Version	12.104-130328a-157485C-ATI
Catalyst Version	13.4
Provider	Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
2D Driver Version	8.01.01.1295
2D Driver File Path	/REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0002
Direct3D Version	9.14.10.0969
OpenGL Version	6.14.10.12217
AMD VISION Engine Control Center Version	2013.0328.2218.38225

EDIT:

Windows fault information from Event Viewer, dunno if it's relevant but does show that what's crashing is the opengl driver itself.

Code:
Faulting application name: Doom3.exe, version: 1.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x45ad459a
Faulting module name: atioglxx.dll, version: 6.14.10.12217, time stamp: 0x5154f2e1
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00751ebf
Faulting process id: 0xf8c
Faulting application start time: 0x01ce9371e8dc05d5
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\DOOM 3\Doom3.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\atioglxx.dll
Report Id: 3c8d1676-ff65-11e2-bd93-d43d7e9147da

So would this mean it's AMD's fault and not necessarily DOOM 3 and OBS?
 

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
No, I have an AMD myself and it works, so I'm not sure what's going on. Though then again I'm using the BFG edition so I'm not entirely sure if that's different
 

KynikossDragonn

New Member
Oh yeah I'm using the retail DOOM 3 with the latest patch.

I might try the open source DOOM 3 if it's not too much of a trouble to compile for win32.
 

Kirby420

New Member
Was there ever a fix for this?

I wanted to record some Doom 3 gameplay, but it's simply crashing out on me with the same atioglxx.dll error.

I'm using the Steam (NON-BFG version) - there is a difference between the BFG and non-BFG versions.

What files are different between the BFG/non versions, I do not know - so enclosed is a jewel to help you on your way .md5 of my Steam/Doom 3 directory, maybe that will illuminate the differences?
 

Attachments

  • Doom 3.md5.bz2
    4.4 KB · Views: 41

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
There's probably a difference between the BFG and non-BFG versions. I still have yet to determine the cause of the crash.
 

KynikossDragonn

New Member
How much you want to bet it's some anti cheat mechanism built into DOOM 3? Or maybe some stupid thing Creative told Carmack to put in so people can't reverse engineer the shadow algorithm?

It's late here but seeing someone dig up my post makes me want to test this out again, Jim did you still need a copy of the retail game? If I can secure postage I'll just ship you the CD if it's legal of me to do so. You don't need to pay me anything in return either.
 

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
I doubt it's anti-cheat to be honest, doom 3 is really more of a single player game than a multiplayer game. I have the BFG edition which seems to work, but people are reporting it with the non-BFG edition. I've actually tried the non-BFG edition and RAGE as well and had trouble really figuring out why specifically these crashes occur.
 

KynikossDragonn

New Member
I still have this sinking feeling it's something to prevent reverse engineering of the shadowing algorithm Carmack developed for Doom 3 that Creative patented... I could just be wearing a tinfoil hat though... But seeing how everytime you try to use ALchemy it brings up some "licensing service" program.... (I mean seriously, why does that bring up some DRM application in the background when just using OpenAL natively does not?)

I take it when debugging it doesn't really return anything useful when the crash happens?
 

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
I doubt it has anything to do with the shadowing, because that shadowing algorithm well was known to the public when it was invented. (Worthless software patents)

Anyway, it's just not simple to debug. I couldn't really figure out a specific cause, and when it did crash it didn't seem to make sense. I spent time with it but it's very difficult to really figure out without going into deep disassembly, and it was just a bit too much time for me. Maybe I can get the code and compile it or something, that'd probably be the best bet, but I'm just so busy as of late, it's just difficult to really spend that much time on these two games at the moment.
 

KynikossDragonn

New Member
I've been needing to get that GPL code myself and build my own binary. I know when Carmack released Doom 3 engine GPL he had to change the way the lighting and shadowing works because of that stupid Creative software patent. Would be funny if I have to compile Doom 3 in a certain way to get GameCapture to work.
 

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
I doubt compiling it in a certain way is necessary, there's something clearly wrong or something I'm missing, but I don't know what it is specifically. I don't think it's protection stuff, I think it's just some sort of hook issue more than anything. It's strange how so many OpenGL games work fine, but the two id games just crash outright. It's a bit weird, I wonder if they're hooking the same functions themselves or something for some reason.
 
Top