Filter mechanism other than Noise Gate.

thesamim

Apologies if this is not the right place to ask raw newbie questions, please redirect me if needed.

Full disclosure: I'm not a sound engineer, am brand new to OBS.

Use case: Worship Online from Church.
Set up: Using OBS to take in two video feeds (cell phone cameras, no audio), Yeti Microphone in, QSC Mixer in through Behringer Adapter. Out to Zoom.
Problem: The fans from QSC Amplifier, the HVAC Blower and my laptop make a truck load (tm) of noise!

I've experimented with the Noise Suppression filter and the Noise Gate filter. I can make the noise go away BUT: the resulting audio ends up clipping in quiet passages (eg: soft music, soft speaker, when music starts after a period of silence, when someone speaks after a period of silence.) It sounds like music does over Zoom if you don't have "Original Sound" turned on.

I believe the issue is that the Filters are trying to help me by cutting off the audio input below certain thresholds. And this is great for getting rid of the white noise, but not so great when real signal is coming in.

In my tiny little mind, a better solution would be to filter the white noise out of the mixed sound. I think that tools like Audacity have that capability, but don't know for sure. Even if something like Audacity does do that, I get the impression that I can feed the sound in to Audacity but I don't know if I can take the sound back out of Audacity and into Zoom. (I mean: it's a recording tool, not a live-streaming tool as far as I know. So that makes sense.)

I've thought about experimenting with VoiceMeeter, but the setup is frankly daunting. But if others have had success with it, I'd be willing to give it a shot.

Thanks so much for reading this far! I'm looking forward to any and all suggestions.

cyclemat

Or you have an good PC you can use nvidia broadcaster.

But what i dont undersrand why your mic so near on amp and Notebook in a church?

koala