60 fps extremely choppy

Josshhh

Hello,

I've been wanting to start recording YouTube videos for awhile, and I cannot seem to record a video where my framerate looks smooth. I record in 60 fps and all of my footage just doesn't look as smooth as other 60 fps videos out there and looks extremely choppy. I easily hit 60 fps in game (normally getting 300+ FPS in games I play) although I cannot find out why my footage looks so choppy. Please let me know if you can help, thanks!

Log: https://obsproject.com/logs/CktEdF3bzpanOZlI

Edit: feel free to let me know if anything else in my settings looks wrong since I am just learning how to use this program.

Last edited:

BK-Morpheus

There's no recording/streaming attempt in that log file.
Don't use monitor capture + game capture in the same scene (always prefer game capture if possible).

Make sure that your GPU load never exceeds 98% for more than a few seconds...you need some GPU power headroom for OBS. So running without any fps limit (or a unrealistically high fps cap) needs to be avoided.

If you want the smoothest video:
Don't play with uneven or fluctuating fps. You wanna record with 60fps? -> Play with 60, 120, 180, 240fps and make sure the ingame fps stays locked in one of those compatible framerates without shooting over or under that framerate.

Josshhh

Don't use monitor capture + game capture in the same scene (always prefer game capture if possible).

Make sure that your GPU load never exceeds 98% for more than a few seconds...you need some GPU power headroom for OBS. So running without any fps limit (or a unrealistically high fps cap) needs to be avoided.

Don't play with uneven or fluctuating fps. You wanna record with 60fps? -> Play with 60, 120, 180, 240fps and make sure the ingame fps stays locked in one of those compatible framerates without shooting over or under that framerate.
Thanks! I really appreciate this

Josshhh