Whats Your C++ Plugin Development Workflow?

Ashmanix

I was wondering, for those who develop c++ plugins for OBS, what IDE/workflow do you use for development?

I am using Visual Studio Code and the plugin template code as a basis that allows me build a simple plugin using the included scripts. I've been looking at Qt creator as an option for helping me make a plugin with UI but was wondering if that's needed?

I attempted to look at c++ plugin development last year when I wanted to edit a plugin to build for MacOS and then add to it. I was able to get it to build for Mac but was found it hard to really get an understanding of the OBS api. I'm a software developer but I mainly code in Javascript and the last time I did anything in C++ was back in my uni days!

Trying to get my head back into the idea of compiling and static typing has been...fun. So far I've been able to make a basic plugin that shows an empty QDockWidget which I feel is an achievement.

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer
I just write/browse my code in vim and then use the terminal if on linux/mac or visual studio if on windows to build and/or debug. I don't really use an IDE seriously. Once you learn vim it's pretty hard to go back to a normal editor. I don't even have auto-completion and I don't even mind (maybe one of these days I might get into nvim for the LSP, but I've never really needed auto-completion anyway, I feel like it's better to just try to use your memory for things to keep yourself fresh and enforce good api patterns).

I use gdb for debugging on linux, lldb if on mac (although I should probably learn to use xcode for debugging/building because lldb sucks), visual studio on windows. Visual studio is the best debugger of any system.