Voicemeeter / OBS - Audio Sync Mic & Inputs

ByronWillis

Hello there OBS aficionados,

I'm a dance instructor and I have moved from 100% in-person lessons to 100% virtual lessons over the past few months. I have been gradually upgrading my setup: wireless XLR mic, audio interface, DSLR, video capture card, upgraded internet speed (400 MBPS down, 20MBPS up), direct ethernet cable connection. Things are generally going pretty well, but I'm trying to fix an issue that I can't seem to find an answer on.

I'm looking to create a delay on all of my audio sources (except for my mic) that go to stream so that my voice is perfectly in sync with with them. Right now there is a delay of maybe 50ms between my mic and my audio source (Music player: Foobar2000). The reason for the delay is because I hear the music on my monitor speakers (played from my laptop) and then I will count or talk on top of the music and the time it takes for my receiver to get my vocal audio and then pass to USB audio interface to encode digitally and then pass to Voicemeeter takes a small amount of time. It's OK that I hear my counting a little bit late on my monitor speakers (I monitor my own mic), but it's not OK that my students hear my counting 50ms out of time.

I have included a diagram of my audio and video routing for reference,. I am glad to provide whatever info is helpful to better understand my situation. I'm really looking for a delay option either within Voicemeeter or as a VST pluging add-on to Voicemeeter that can apply a delay to certain sources going to certain outputs. I thought that the obviously labeled "Delay" FX effect would be a good option, but I learned that delay in live audio jargon actually means echo to me. Hah!

Anyways, thanks for the read!

TLDR: I need to create a 50ms delay in Voicemeeter for certain inputs going to certain outputs.

Attachments

• Audio & Video routing 2.jpg
    Audio & Video routing 2.jpg
    461.4 KB · Views: 425

Zeros.81