Ubuntu 21.04 and latest snap stable version of OBS problem encountered

tjmarkowitz

First of all let me say I love OBS for Linux! A great tool with many strengths. As a newb I've only started to scratch the surface of using it for recording, but one issue has cropped up consistently since I started exercising it over the last few days: I'm running an up-to-date Kubuntu Hirsute system and whenever I try to add an "Image" source to one of my scenes the pop-up comes up to let me choose an external image and then won't actually let me choose anything. By this I mean that I select "Browse" to locate an image, the standard KDE modal dialog appears and I select a PNG file. However, after selecting it there, the OBS modal dialog returns without the file I just selected and then will NOT let me continue on no matter what I try. None of the buttons (Cancel, OK, ...) respond. I can still iconify the dialog window, move it around. etc. However at that point I'm essentially dead in the water with OBS since I can't return to the main panel. Each time I've attempted this process I ultimately have to kill the whole main thread in order to exit OBS, either from the shell or using xkill on one of its windows. Not a good thing, needless to say.

Other than avoiding this quirk (well, it IS pretty important over all, I suppose :-) I've been able to create scenes add multiple cameras and sources, and to successfully record some screens and voiceovers. If anyone has an inkling as to what might be happening or has thoughts about a fix, it'd be much appreciated.

TIA,
//Ted M.

Log file: https://obsproject.com/logs/VMAfFJFUdIwmwA9J

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210706_154331.png
    Screenshot_20210706_154331.png
    266.9 KB · Views: 135
  • Screenshot_20210706_154418.png
    Screenshot_20210706_154418.png
    33 KB · Views: 135

tjmarkowitz