Start recording automatically when specific window is active

samwzlim

Is there any way to get OBS to automatically start recording a zoom meeting as soon as I enter the meeting? I have selected window capture in sources and the window is [Zoom.exe]: Zoom. Will it be possible for OBS to start recording when as soon as the window '[Zoom.exe]: Zoom' is active? Then, as soon as this window is closed, OBS will stop recording instantly. On paper, it seems doable, but I have no experience in programming/coding to come up with anything myself. Is there already a plugin/tool for this or can someone guide me on how this can be done?

carlmmii

AutoHotKey script. This checks every second to see whether Zoom.exe is active, and uses Ctrl+F7 and Ctrl+F8 to Start/Stop recording (you would need to set these hotkeys in OBS).

Code:
check_delay := 1000
hotkey_delay := 50
is_active := false

Loop
{
    if WinActive("ahk_exe Zoom.exe")
    {
        if(!is_active)
        {
            is_active := true

Send {Ctrl down}{F7 down}
            Sleep, %hotkey_delay%
            Send {Ctrl up}{F7 up}
        }
    }
    else if(is_active)
    {
        is_active := false

Send {Ctrl down}{F8 down}
        Sleep, %hotkey_delay%
        Send {Ctrl up}{F8 up}
    }

Sleep, %check_delay%
}

samwzlim

@carlmmii This is really cool! However, I'm concerned if AHK checking every second to see whether Zoom.exe is active takes up lots of resources, as my computer isn't that beefy. Is there a more elegant solution to this, perhaps a plugin within OBS? For example, OBS would only start the screen recording as soon as Zoom.exe is recognized, therefore eliminating the need for periodical checking. Thanks for the script anyways!

samwzlim