Question / Help Single PC Streaming on X264 Medium - 9900K - Does RAM Speed Matter?

Carto

Hey peeps o/

I stream off a single PC, so we're on the same page, specs below (pic attached, I'm a proud builder and overclocker lol) :

9900K @ 5ghz
32GB DDR4 @ 3200
MSI Z390 mobo
MSI RTX 2080
Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD

Dztlc8CUcAA0gnc.jpg

I've had extremely good results so far using this setup with the X264 medium preset at 900P 60FPS (I run this for mobile users), but have been considering moving to 1080P 60FPS as I'm partnered and peeps can select the res they'd like so I think mobile users would be alright. I was curious however, if there is any additional quality/performance to be had out of upgrading to faster RAM. My current motherboard will handle up to 4500mhz RAM and I was looking at some 4266mhz sticks (8GB X4) to replace my current 3200mhz sticks.

I'm just unsure how much the speed of your memory impacts the encoder. I've seen some threads on here with people mentioning how it really helps with Ryzen but I didn't find anything about extreme RAM speeds and Intel.

Again, so far the stream is running amazing while gaming on a single PC but I'm always on the hunt for anything else I can do to squeeze more out of it.

Thanks in advance,

Carto

carlmmii

On the intel side, nope. Above a certain threshold, you're not going to see any improvement, and you're already way above that threshold.

Ryzen benefits from better performance just because of how the infinity fabric works, since the RAM is much more integral to inter-core communication. Intel is much more segmented in that regard, with RAM not really factoring in at all for on-die performance.

Carto,
Your games will definitely have usage of faster ram and especially if you decide to play a game that is cpu bound. I doubt you will be able to stream with medium x264 in a cpu bound game and keep a healthy fps in game.

Agamemnus

Hey mate,