Setup assist for new OBS user

IT78642

ok, I work for a City and we are using one of the legal broadcasters (which is horrible) and looking to send a direct feed to Meta Business suite. I am going to be sending from live mics>mixer board>BMD Audio to SDI>BMD Web Presenter. What settings do I select in the setup menu to get this to work? I am by trade an IT person, but we have no AV person and our live feed is not working correctly. Any assist would be greatly appreciated.

Lawrence_SoCal

Ah the joy of learning OBS Studio... been there done that (as an IT person) 3 years ago
First, if you want a good understanding of OBS, and you are not interested from a gamer perspective (which is a prevalent OBS Studio use case) then I'd recommend StreamGeeks/PTZ optics unofficial guide to OBS Studio (you can buy the book, or get the PDF for free) https://streamgeeks.us/obs-superuser/

Next, understand that real-time video compositing is computationally intensive. So beware hardware resource utilization on the system running OBS Studio. One way to save CPU demands is to do encoding/decoding elsewhere. In that case, for now, the tried/tested/works best approach is nVidia NVENC. AV1 is likely the future for streaming (replace H.264), but today, you are most likely going to be streaming H.264 to Facebook.
Side note on Facebook livestreaming. *IF* you schedule your livestreams, good security is to NOT use a persistent stream key (meaning retrieve and set stream key each stream). A benefit on Facebook to a Scheduled livestream video event is that you get a consistent URL that you can share in advance, and does NOT require logging into Facebook to watch​

Now, back to OBS Studio. General best practice is to get your audio and video sources all set outside of OBS Studio first. Then make sure those source(s) are working at Operating Stem level (OBS Studio NOT running, not just not in foreground).