Question / Help Settings for streaming and gaming with i7-8700k with no performance hit on the game?

Ranimen

Hi guys,

I'm new to streaming so excuse me for my lack of knowledge on the matter. I would like to play Rainbow Six Siege and PUBG at 1080p 144hz on a 2k monitor and stream them at 720p30fps and maybe 60fps. However, my game would have micro stutter (generally not as smooth as not streaming) and my stream is very pixelated. I have an i7-8700k so I thought I could at least stream without any performance hit with lower obs settings but it seems like I cannot.

Since I have a 2k monitor but play at 1080p, I set the base canvas res in video settings to 1080p and output scaled res to 720p. I also use bicubic sharpen scaling. OBS process priority is on high. I would like to keep my consistent 144fps without having the stream looking too terrible. My in game settings are pretty much the lowest possible on everything except texture on medium. I have seen some people claim that they crank the preset all the way to medium but if I do that my games would be unplayable with crazy stuttering and sometimes they even freeze for a bit.

Here's my full specs:
i7-8700k overclocked at 4.7GHZ
EVGA 1070 SC 8GB
Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200MHZ
Asus Rog Strix Z370-e
Samsung EVO 960 NVMe M.2 500GB
Seagate 8TB BarraCuda Pro HDD

Internet: Download 93Mbps Upload 4Mbps

Here's my log files for streaming PUBG: https://obsproject.com/logs/begDgXxnuumdBjwf

I have watched many tutorials and read many threads on OBS Settings but all of them pretty much suggest the settings similar to what I have right now. Even if this does work, I still wonder if my cpu can handle streaming a higher quality stream at 720p60fps. Please help!

carlmmii

Just try it, there's no harm in it.