Question / Help Screen recording problem

JackOats

Hi All,
Just downloaded OBS today so this is my first post.
I've been trying to record a video of a synth patch playing in Voltage Modular.
I've already spent a couple of days with QuickTime Player & Monosnap - but only managed to record the video & not the audio.
(I'm on a Mac desktop running Catalina).
With OBS I have managed to do the opposite - record the audio of a video but not the video itself!

Could I ask, please, firstly: is it possible to change the kind of 'Hall of Mirrors' interface so the screen shows simply what is being recorded?
And secondly: what am I doing wrong to get the result you can see in the 1st attachment below, rather than the 2nd?
Would be really grateful for any insights.

Many thanks.
(Log file included below).

T0betterlife

Hi guys,
im also newbie here and have the same issue as "the kind of 'Hall of Mirrors' interface"
and if i watch recorded videos i see only 3/4 of my desktop like its not in center
using Macbook Pro 13 inch MacOS Catalina

Narcogen

That just means you are capturing the display OBS is running on, with the preview on. HoM effect is normal.

Put OBS on a second display, or minimize and control with keyboard shortcuts.

dchyde

I am on a 5K Mac running Mojave and OBS. I will assume this will be the same workflow running Catalina. I spent three full days wasting my life with the same issues but I finally cracked it so I will tell what I did to get it to work.
From your description I assume you have OBS open and all the settings as you want them. Get the video on the screen as you want it and select windowed capture and drag the corners of the video to fit the capture window. After you hit Record in OBS, click the background video and bring it to the front. It will record the main video and not the OBS mirrored window.