Question / Help Paste (duplicate) and paste (reference)

Calfred

Hi everyone. I'm new to OBS and I can see that sources can be copied and paste but what is the difference between paste duplicate and paste reference? Could you show me examples of use? Thanks

koala

If you paste by reference, the new source "reuses" the information from the original source, so if you change something in the original source, it is reflected in each reference. Also any filters you apply to one are inherited by all references.
If you need the same source in multiple scenes, or multiple times in the same scene, this is the way to go, because this is using almost no additional resources.

If you want to use some source as template and change the settings for the copy but not for the original, you need to paste as duplicate. In this case the original video source is accessed twice. This also doubles the demand of system resources.
This will not work with every kind of source: for example, a video capture device can be opened only once. If you duplicate a webcam source for access to the same webcam, one source will remain black, because the other source is accessing the webcam. The same with game capture or monitor capture: it works sometimes, but often duplicates of the same monitor capture or game capture will exhibit a black screen and only one of these will randomly contain an actual image. It's required to create multiple versions of these kind of sources as reference only.

If you need the same source (reference) but different filters or crops (only possible with duplicates), you can do this:
- for cropping, don't use the crop filter but instead press and hold the ALT key and drag the source borders with the mouse. This is specific for each reference and not inherited by the other references