OBS with Virtual Audio Cables & Zoom Garbled Sound

aldridgepk

Hello, I am new to OPS . Running 28.1.2 on windows 11.

I am running audio through a monitor filter to acommodate a 1200 ms delay for my PTZ camera feed.

Pushing output of the filter through VIrtual Audio Cable (VAC). The delay works perfect (audio and video now in synch). Virtual camera feed in Zoom with no problems.

When the VAC is selected in Zoom the audio is garbled, If I use the same direct mic unput into zoom, the audio is clear.

Suggestions?

AaronD

How is it garbled? Different problems have different sounds: clipping, low bitrate, format mismatch, etc.

aldridgepk

I am not sure the right words. I have attached a zipped MP3 of the trimmed section of the recording. At ~16s point I switch the input to zoom from the Virtual Cable to the mic input. You can hear a huge difference before and after.

Attachments

• audio1806489484 trimmed.zip
    158.8 KB · Views: 60

AaronD

I am not sure the right words. I have attached a zipped MP3 of the trimmed section of the recording. At ~16s point I switch the input to zoom from the Virtual Cable to the mic input. You can hear a huge difference before and after.

My first thought on that is a noise reducer that isn't set right. Does the VAC have one?

My second thought is a mismatched sample rate, without resampling. Like the destination expects 48kHz but the source is 44.1kHz, and it just blindly plays out each small buffer as it becomes available. If you were playing a recording, that would appear as ~8% fast, with a corresponding pitch shift. But for live audio, it speeds up each buffer individually and puts silence in between.

If that's the case, then I'm surprised that the "glue" cable doesn't resample. Resampling done right is completely transparent. Maybe you need a better VAC?