Resource icon

obs-ndi - NewTek NDI™ integration into OBS Studio 4.13.0

EvenTS

There are several reasons Streamlabs Desktop has an NDI source. Everything is built in with nothing else to install. Furthermore, there is no plugin support, so there is no way to extend Streamlabs Desktop's functionality. Furthermore, what Streamlabs did to make this happen may have violated the OBS Project's, NewTek's or both entities' licenses. I can 't be sure without understanding the implications of the licensing models that OBS Studio and NewTek's runtime libraries are distributed under as well as copyright law. I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV.

That said, it is now time to set Streamlabs Desktop to the side as this forum is not about Streamlabs Desktop nor is it about open source software licensing and linking with proprietary runtime libraries.

There are some questions I have to ask:
  1. Did you install the plugin at all? (Kind of hard to have NDI support without the plugin installed.)
  2. Did you tell the plugin installer where to install the NDI plugin? Make sure it's pointed to the base of where your OBS Studio installation lives, e.g. C:\Program Files\obs-studio for a normal system install.
  3. Did you install the NDI runtime or tools? Either of these must be installed for the plugin to even function. You will not have an NDI source as an option for a scene source or the output under Tools or as a filter if neither are installed.
I would like to know what kind of answers you have to these questions.

Another note: If you correctly installed the NDI plugin but not the required runtime, OBS Studio will tell you this, giving you a link to download it.

Hope this helps.

--Katt. =^.^=
everything worked well until on February 20 I decided to reinstall Windows (22631.3155) and after that I stopped seeing NDI.
All installations were by default
NDI is conducted everywhere except OBS