Question / Help OBS audio cracking and high latency

Narwalxx

Hi everyone, I downloaded OBS to record my screen and audio, since I'm trying to record some tutorials. Anyway, I get a constant cracking in the audio i'm recording, the audio is also delayed a bunch, but if I reduce the buffer size I get more cracks. I'm using an Apollo 8 audio interface. I've tried every fix I could find, matched the sample rates, increased the buffer size, update every audio driver, checked my cables and my mic (which I use regularly for recording so I know they're good), I feel like I'm missing something but I can't get a grasp of what that is, hope that someone can help me on here.
On a side note: I'm also using sonarworks reference, but I have it turned off while recording, so I don''t think that's the issue, anyway I'm not really good at windows so who knows.
https://obsproject.com/logs/gxFPgJrbHIuf3IPF

DEDRICK

Damn, that is a sexy interface.

You've run the gamut of the various crackling audio fixes, for sure the inteface isn't running at 192kHz? Does it have an Internal Sample Rate control? I see it has a Rate meter on the front.

(17) Sample Rate Indicators These indicators display the current sample rate setting for A/D and D/A conversion. The sample rate is set within the Console application or the host DAW; see the Apollo Software Manual for details.

Do you have a a Dual Male 1/4" TS to Male 3.5mm TRS Stereo Breakout cable? Instead of using the Thunderbolt device in OBS, can you run from Monitor Out or Aux Monitor Out to the Rear Line-In(Not Mic In) on your sound card? Then use Line-in as your Mic/Aux device in OBS

Last edited:

Narwalxx

Yup, I'm a sound engineer, sexy interface are my thing.
As I stated I already matched the sample rate on the interface with the one in OBS, I tried in 44.1K and 48K

DEDRICK

Same with Windows? I'm assuming when you change the sample rate in the Apollo control panel it also changes it in Windows, that is how my Roland functions.