Question / Help Issue with vp8 encoding [NEED HELP]

trooose

Vp9 is intensive on your cpu so I attempted to encode with libvpx [vp8] instead, I used the audio codec libvorbis but it comes up with an error when you attempt to record "An unspecified error occured while recording"

Anyone know how to fix? Also sorry for needing soo much help, im kinda new to this stuff...

Here is the log, there was no crash so I can't give yall that

Attachments

• 2018-02-07 07-12-30.txt
    5.3 KB · Views: 49

pkv

Developer
i have the same error; it is likely ffmpeg was not compiled with vpx support. Note that the list of codecs displayed in obs is that supported by ffmpeg in general, but that the dll might have been compiled with less encoders.
For youtube, you should use x264 + aac. Quality will be better. Don't know why you stick to vpx ... not worth it. Nobody will make licensing claims for your encode in x264 and YouTube re-encodes all your ingests so ...

trooose

Idk, I like the idea of keeping away from mp4 when it comes to stuff like this, are you sure there is no way to fix it? Wouldn't the error entail that something in the settings is incompatible?

pkv

Developer
it can be fixed by compiling your own dll for ffmpeg libs with support for vpx and swapping the dll shipping with obs.
There was a change in ffmpeg binaries in obs; check if earlier versions of obs work for vpx. If they do, use those versions.

trooose

it can be fixed by compiling your own dll for ffmpeg libs with support for vpx and swapping the dll shipping with obs.
There was a change in ffmpeg binaries in obs; check if earlier versions of obs work for vpx. If they do, use those versions.
any idea which versions? I tried a few and can't find it

FirebirdTN

This thread is the main reason I just joined. BUMP.