Question / Help Capture Application Window

makkofly

Hey everyone,

i've searched for this question but didn't found anything.
I'm pretty new to this streaming stuff but I want to stream some programming stuff in the future, i've tested it yesterday and had a problem, I had two window captures running of two editor windows in one scene, after rewatching the stream i noticed that one of the windows stayed on top of the others and nobody could actually see what I was doing.

Anyway, is it possible to capture just Application Windows or have multiple Window Captures in a scene and OBS always shows the one that is focused ignoring the order in the source panel?

Would be great if you could let me know :)

Cheers,
makko

Narcogen

If you're switching focus between two programs, you can make two scenes with the required sources, and tell the Scene Switcher to switch scenes depending on the active application.

I think you can do the same for different windows.

Narcogen

I'm looking at the available settings in Tools > Automatic Scene Switcher, which allows for switching to scenes based on the active window.

makkofly

Ok, I'm using that already to switch between my browser and my editor, the problem is that i've two editor windows and the scene switcher isn't showing both. It would be perfect if it could scenes depending on actual windows.

Narcogen

It can, but not if it can't detect the window. I think some kinds of windows (probably palettes and such) aren't treated the same by the system and don't show up in the window list.

Look at the Advanced Scene Switcher optional plugin-- it has settings for doing a switch based on cursor position. If you always keep your windows in the same position, that might work for you.

https://obsproject.com/forum/resources/advanced-scene-switcher.395/

makkofly