Question / Help VST Plugin in Linux version of OBS?

Hi all,

I have been working with OBS for a few weeks now and habe been pretty amazed by its features so far. Congratulations to the developers!

The only thing that has been bugging me is the fact that, when running OBS, the fan of my workstation is getting annoyingly loud at times. Of course, I can easily filter that noise out of the recorded stream in a post-processing step: I determined the frequency of my fan to be somewhere between 700 and 900Hz, so I just use a Band Reject filter and all is fine.

That post-processing step, however, needs a lot of time, so I have been wondering, if it's possible to apply a Band Reject filter during recording. Sure, the Noise Suppression filter in OBS does a good job, but if I set it as high as needed to remove all fan noise, the overall audio deteriorates quite a bit.

So, I found the possibility of using VST plugins (I'm pretty new to all this audio stuff). I'm working on Linux, so I do know that there might be a few problems getting that to work, but I'm dedicated to trying it. In a nutshell, my problem ist that the entry "VST 2.x Plug-in" that's mentioned in all the tutorials doesn't turn up, when adding a filter to my audio signal. I'm using 19.0.2, so it should be there, shouldn't it? I even reinstalled another version from git... still no luck. I put a few of the VST files (".so") in the correct directories (following this page: https://github.com/jp9000/obs-studio/wiki/Filters-Guide), I even installed Carla (http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Applications:Carla), thinking that OBS might maybe require a host application to be installed... still no luck.

Any ideas as to what else I could try to get the VST plugins to work? Or are there other options for adding a simple Band Reject plugin?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Fenrir

Forum Admin
Are you sure they are VST2.x and not any other version of VST? Can you link the exact VST plugins you're trying to use?

Fenrir