Question / Help Virtual webcam text right but I'm reversed

ally el dee

Hi, I'm new to OBS and trying to use it as a virtual webcam for my online teaching which requires me to have a full wall of school logos displayed behind me. Problem I am having is I can either have myself the 'correct' way round and the text reads backwards OR I can have my text reading the right way round and I am reversed (so if I raise my right hand it shows on the left side of the screen). I am teaching English, so left and right are pretty essential and I obviously can't have my logos showing in reverse to the students. Can anyone offer a solution because the 'flipping' feature is not resolving this issue. Thank you.

koala

Usually, that's no issue. You record your environment as it is, and your audience understands intuitively what you mean, if if you point here and there.
Just record it as you were actually standing in front of your class. It's done by millions of teachers and reporters for decades. To see how other people do such teachings, fire up Youtube and search for videos of english teaching classes. I bet you get hundredths to thousands of hits.

Of course, you can go a step further, because your school logos don't need to be physically there. Get a photo or a drawing of these logos and include the image with an image source in OBS. Depending on how you size your camera source within OBS, and on how you place the source within OBS, you can be in front of the image, part of the image or even behind the image.

johnhite

ally el dee said:
I'm teaching English, so right and left are essential in my videos and I frequently have to
do my essay for me including logos in presentations and tasks for english learners.
>> >>
Quote of the reply collapsed
>> >>