Bug Report V4L2 sources can't share the device

unfa

Self-introduction:

Hi! I'm new and this is my first post, I installed OBS yesterday and I'm amazed how professional it is, and that it actually gets the job done. I'm a musician, and I've published a few hours of video tutorials in the past years, many time pulling my hair out because the screencasting software lost my 1 hour recording again. Recently I wanted to get back to making tutorials, and yesterday I stumbled upon OBS.

The problem:

I added a webcam source (v4l2) and added a mask (blend) filter.

I created a new scene and added another webcam source using the same v4l2 device (because I wanted to use it without the masking filter) - however the next source doesn't display anything.

It looks like once the first source accesses the webcam, the next source is unable to do so.

After restating OBS, my webcam sources swapped - the first one didn't display, and the second one became active.
I guess they were loaded in such an order.

Last edited:

unfa

*Bump*

So I'd like to be able to use the same webcam in different scenes using different filters. I have a "webcam" scene where the webcam image is fullscreen and nothing else is visible - and I don't want any filters there. I have a second scene where the webcam source uses a blending mask and sits in a corner and the desktop is below. But any filter I do is applied in both places, and that leaves black spots in my fullscreen webcam scene.

I thought maybe I could use a v4l2-loopback device to "duplicate" the device node, but I couldn't find any information if that's even possible so far. Maybe a simple mkfifo command could duplicate my webcam node, gonna try that.

cRaZy-bisCuiT