Question / Help Unable to use 2x Logitech C930e USB cameras simultaneously, if either use custom resolution

bradjshannon

tl;dr:
OBS Studio ONLY works with both if BOTH are set to Default Resolution.
OBS Studio is only able to work with one of these webcams, if either of them is set to Custom Resolution.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi folks, I'm a video professional experiencing a problem that is new to me. There doesn't appear to be a solution so I'm going to work around it. I'm posting this for anyone in the future researching this issue.

• I'm using OBS Studio 25.0.8 x64, on Win10 Pro.
  • Both of my Logitech C930e webcams have the latest firmware from the vendor, as of an hour ago.
  • Both webcams connect to a powered USB 3.0+ hub, which has been extremely reliable (I have used many, and this one is the best model so far; I have several in production environments)
  • I have an additional "real" camera piping to a Magewell HDMI-USB capture device, also connected to the hub.

I verify the cameras work individually:
I can open the "Logitech Camera Settings" app and flip from Webam1 to Webcam2. They each wake up when selected, with indicator LED on and a clear image onscreen.​

Then I close Logitech Camera Settings and open OBS Studio.

I have Webcam1 in Scene1. Webcam2 in Scene2.

I set both cameras to use Custom Resolution, 1920x1080, because that's the only way to get them widescreen. Choosing 'widescreen' in Logitech Camera Settings has the same effect but only sets it temporarily. OBS Studio reverts to a 4:3 resolution, if not specified.

[edit: I tested 1280x720 with the same results]

I switch so Scene1 is live. I open the Video Capture source. I see the same settings, basically, as the Logitech Camera Settings app provided me. I activate the device and see its video feed pop up, as expected. All good so far.