Question / Help Successfully Streamed Video Podcast To YouTube But Need Better Quality

Criss Cain

Hello all,

First off, thanks so much to anyone involved in the development of this software and to everyone in this very inviting and educational forum. I'm very new to all of this stuff but I'm working on a video podcast and we "successfully" streamed our first episode on Tuesday evening with a couple major issues. (Through, with a degree in voice it's pretty amazing I've even made it this far...)

My macbook info:
Screen Shot 2015-09-24 at 3.47.00 PM.png

1) The video quality is terrible and it seems to be the best I could achieve while maintaining a steady stream to YouTube. I've got an Upload speed of 5.0mbps and I'm using an ethernet cable connection. Not sure of my issue.

2) The sound quality is terrible, especially when we played our guest's video clip. The audio doesn't even come through, for the most part. (This has also been the case when I've attempted iTunes in past sessions.) In OBS, one audio input is set to record from Soundflower (64ch) and the other takes the sound directly from the clip which is captured through OBS's Media Source. I'm also using Audio Hijack with these settings:
Screen Shot 2015-09-24 at 3.56.40 PM.png

Here's a link to our first experimental episode on YouTube. (Side not; Don't judge it by the first episode. It's terrible. This was very much a test of the equipment with no written material, whatsoever...)
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__yKUGhAAHA

I've also attached my log file for that evening.

I would GREATLY appreciate any, and all, advice anyone could offer!

Thanks very much,
Criss

Attachments

• 2015-09-23 04-35-11.txt
    10.9 KB · Views: 26
I am happy to see that you use Audio Hijack, it is my 'secret' tool of getting all audio connections right on my streams.