Stream only pc help

gomezse

morning all,

So, I'm new to streaming having only did it for about a month or so for my local church. We are currently using and old 2013 iMac to stream but can't stream at 1080p without the obs warning coming up. So i was thinking of building a streaming only pc to be able to push 1080p. The problem im coming up against is everywhere I look I get different data on what will be able to handle that. I'm trying to get the best bang for my buck, but I don't want to over spend either. I was looking at building around the 3400G since it has integrated graphics and i could skip buying a stand alone graphics card. However, if that isn't smart let me know. Any suggestions for builds would be greatly appreciated.

Lawrence_SoCal

Lots of recent conversations on this topic, in this forum. Unfortunately the answer is... it depends.
Video encoding is strenuous activity for a computer, so
- how many years do you want this computer to last?
- what all will you be using in live stream? just a single camera/audio source, or pre-recorded videos, something for service bulletin (we use PowerPoint), How about lower thirds or other fancy effects?
- are you going to want to record stream as well so you have cleaner copy ? [this has resource impact]
- etc.

See my posts for details on what I recently purchased, which is complete overkill now ($1,500 with business class desktop tower, with 5yr next business day, US based premium phone support) but can handle video editing, etc and I expect to last a full 5 years... so high value (from my perspective). A 5yr old gaming laptop couldn't handle our stream at all (maybe with a lot more knowledge than I had on OBS optimization could have got it to work). Personally, I try to avoid consumer grade PCs more than I do nasty infectious diseases..