Question / Help QuickSync or AMD support on MESA

TyMiles2012

EDIT: I fixed my problem! All I did was compile FFmpeg with --enable-vaapi and --enable-shared, then I compiled OBS-Studio forked by GloriousEggroll. I used the debian build instructions from the official github as a guide. :) Encoding works with both my iGPU and AMD GPU! MESA drivers are the Oibaf bleeding edge drivers for Ubuntu.

Old post below
------
Hi! I've been looking all over and I can't seem to figure out how to enable support for these. I'm a bit new to Linux and I'm not super familiar with compiling stuff. From what I've read on here, VAAPI encoding isn't supported on the official drivers, but I'm using the Oibaf MESA drivers. This is my VAINFO. I'm more of a fan of QuickSync and my BIOS were already set up for it on Windows, but if I'm stuck with AMD's encoder, I'll be just as happy. It's just that x264 is way too intensive for me. My FPS on Wine plummets when I screen capture with it using the CPU.

I found this, but it's only for arch. I use Ubuntu.
https://forum.level1techs.com/t/obs-studio-ffmpeg-vaapi-plugin/121705

Code:
libva info: VA-API version 0.40.0
libva info: va_getDriverName() returns 0
libva info: Trying to open /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/dri/radeonsi_drv_video.so
libva info: Found init function __vaDriverInit_0_40
libva info: va_openDriver() returns 0
vainfo: VA-API version: 0.40 (libva )
vainfo: Driver version: Mesa Gallium driver 18.1.0-devel for AMD Radeon (TM) R9 390 Series (HAWAII / DRM 3.18.0 / 4.13.0-36-generic, LLVM 6.0.0)
vainfo: Supported profile and entrypoints
      VAProfileMPEG2Simple            :   VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileMPEG2Main              :   VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileVC1Simple              :   VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileVC1Main                :   VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileVC1Advanced            :   VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileH264ConstrainedBaseline:   VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileH264ConstrainedBaseline:   VAEntrypointEncSlice