Question / Help Pull Info From Twitch To Text File (Raid/Host Etc)

y0himba

Hello! Let me start by stating that I am old, I am new to streaming, and I have been teaching myself for 2 days, almost non-stop on how to use OBS and create everything myself, trying to stay away from third party websites. I am not a point and click person. Just a preference I like to do everything I can locally, on my PC, myself. Please be gentle with me.

What I am looking for is a way to set up an alert that uses a local source, such as Text (GDI+) that is fired by en event such as a raid. I think a way to do this would be to read the information from a text file that is updated from Twitch itself, possibly using the API. (Is that correct, API?) So when, for example, a raid happens, the raider and number in the raiding party are written to a text file which then is read by the alert, which was fired by the event itself.

As I said, I am SO very new to this, and I am most likely going about it all wrong. I am a semi-retired truck driver and not the most intelligent of humans, so alternative methods for achieving this are most welcome. The end result being using local sources as much as possible. For example, local media files, local text files, local HTML/CSS/JS etc. files. I have tried doing what I want through Streamelements, however unless I can learn one of the web languages very quickly, the options are very limited. I want it to be simple, clean and text based if possible, and I would prefer a tutorial, not to have someone just do it for me. I want to learn to do it myself.

Now, I am off to try and wrap my head around web coding and languages. My poor brain. I didn't even graduate high school for God's sake!

FerretBomb

Welcome!