Newbie here: Need help with playing local video files on demand

EdK

Hello! Newbie here. I don't understand how to start scenes 'on demand'. To explain further:

I want to stream live with a webcam and during the stream I need to play pre-recorded video files. There may be instances where I need to play 2 or 3 video files simultaneously. Each are only 1-3 minutes long and will not be shown again during the livestream but I will need to play other video files later on in my broadcast. I have not yet attempted to stream. I am only testing as recommended.

My understanding is that what 'scenes' are for but I can't seem to get it to work right. Here's how I have things setup now:

Scene 1: Live webcam only
Scene 2: Live webcam and play video file 1 (appearing on screen at the same time)
Scene 3: Live webcam only
Scene 4: Live webcam and play video files 2 & 3 simultaneously (appearing on screen at the same time)
Scene 5: Live webcam only

In each of the scenes I've created, I have my webcam as a source. In scenes 2 and 4, I have added each of the video files as a source.

I start OBS with Scene 1 and it plays fine (webcam only). I select Scene 2 at the appropriate time but the video file does not play but the webcam is still active. However, if I exit OBS and restart it (with Scene 2 being the last scene I selected before exiting), my webcam is active and video file 1 begins to play. When video file 1 (in Scene 2) completes, I select Scene 3 and I get my webcam as expected, I then select Scene 4 and nothing changes. Only the webcam is active. The video files don't play. But if I exit and restart OBS (with Scene 4 being the last one that was selected), the webcam and both video files are displayed as expected.

I'm sure I've got something setup wrong but I am at a loss as to what I don't have setup correctly.
--OR-- am I going about this the wrong way?

Again, I'm a newbie to OBS.

Thanks for any assistance!

Ed

koala