M1 Mac choppy recordings

ciraben

Hi! I'm new to OBS and learning how to stream Stardew Valley on Twitch, on my 2020 M1 Macbook Air. I've noticed that, while gameplay itself appears smooth to me, this doesn't translate over to my streams or recordings. Instead, I consistently see choppy video. I'd like to understand the root cause of this.

I've dug around on the forum a bit, but the variety of suggestions is a bit overwhelming, so thought I'd reach out. I'm currently experimenting with local recordings to help me isolate cause, but my end goal is to stream.

While recording, normalized CPU usage never surpasses 25%, no noticeable dropped/missed frames (0.0%), x264 encoder.

My best guess is that this is about encoder/GPU settings - these are new topics for me. I really appreciate any advice - thank you!

Attachments

• 2022-03-20 10-45-10.txt
    8 KB · Views: 109

Talonis

I also stream with a MacBook Air M1. I use the Hardware VT encoder (rather than x264), recording "same as stream", and if necessary, in 720p. Downscale filter "bilinear" (fine for me). Ultimately audio matters most anyway.

For non-games stuff I can usually get 1080p50 with three cameras at 4.5 Mbps (including audio) running smoothly.

Hopefully things will improve yet further when OBS Studio goes Mac M1 native.

ciraben

Thanks for the reply! I was actually able to resolve this "choppy" behavior by switching to a scene that uses Display Capture instead of Window Capture.

After a lot of fiddling with OBS settings to try optimizing stream quality, I feel a bit silly finding out that this particular artifact is coming from the OBS software itself. I'm glad to hear what has worked for you though - now that I've conquered this choppiness, optimizing the settings you mentioned is my next step! :)