Low res. image at start of recording

auserofobs

I'm an OBS Studio noob, so this may be trivial.

I've noticed that each recording that I make starts with about a second of low resolution video, after which the resolution improves. See the following full-screen recording for example:

https://youtu.be/Xq9t7p4FZh8

and take a look at some of the fine detail on the Studio window.

Questions:

1. Why is this happening? Is it expected?
2. Can I alter settings to prevent it?

And thanks to all for a fine product.

Log file:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1up9MryvyDKn-hhmwfFYGgRtsqlv6mOdm/view?usp=sharing

koala

It's not the resolution that changes, it's less detail and more compression artifacts you see due to extremely low bandwidth you configured for streaming or recording. When the streaming starts, the initial picture has to be transmitted, which is really big data. After that, only differences to the initial picture needs to be transmitted, which is rather small data. You configured bitrate 2500, and to transmit a perfect initial picture with such a low bitrate takes a long time.

Instead of waiting for the transmission of a perfect image, compression is tuned up very high to see at least something at streaming start. This is what you perceive as low resolution. After that, differences to that ugly first picture is transmitted and the image improves, because you actually transmit a still image, so there is enough bandwidth available even with 2500. If you transmit something animated, something moving, you will see a pixelated mess at such a low bitrate.

To change this behavior, increase the bitrate from 2500 so something higher.

Twitch has a page with rule of thumb bitrates: https://stream.twitch.tv/encoding/
Youtube as well: https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/1722171

auserofobs

OK thanks. I seem to have fixed the problem by increasing the bitrate to 6000 in the Settings>Output>Audio tab.