Just the Cameraman... want to livestream to studio for onpassing to live broadcast

gdurnin

So sorry for this basic, novice question from an old-school novice. I am a camera operator/editor who works remotely for international broadcasters (= still in the Triassic period of tv i'm afraid!), usually with bgans, avi-wests (or similar celphone network technology) and, rarely but still, sometimes, satelite trucks and tv studios for live transmissions. OBS has come to my attention recently as yet another possible option but I see it being used to stream to platforms like Youtube, Twitch and others. I would like to be able to stream directly to broadcast studios for them to be able to onpass the stream into their live broadcast. In my opinion, this would offer much better image control than Skype or (worse) Zoom, because we could be using broadcast cameras (with proper lenses, gain and iris control etc) instead of webcams or celphones. Can this be done via OBS? - ie I stream on OBS to another computer with OBS in a master control room that can then switch the stream for live broadcast? Maybe this question has been asked a million times but I just can't find it anywhere in this forum. Cheers.

FerretBomb

This can be done a number of ways, yes.

What you'll need to set up is an RTMP ingest or relay server, as well as some manner of player. The most popular (read: free) are nginx-rtmp and jPlayer. You can also use VLC to pull a stream from the nginx-rtmp server. This will allow you to set up OBS to stream to your server just like OBS normally streams to Twitch/YouTube/etc.
This is probably the best option. It also doesn't require much of a server to handle it (a Raspberry Pi can handle the job) but will require tech know-how to get nginx-rtmp set up, configured, and secured. You can run it on whatever bitrate you have available, and get solid video.
I believe Amazon has a private-livestream-server offering available for commercial uses, at commercial prices.