Question / Help Infinite number of screens

SolihullRog

It's my first time in, and I have the same question as many others.
Why do I see an infinite number of screens?
Somebody indicated that it is something related to the Source, but I can't find a simple description of Sources.
I simply want to record the contents of my monitor, saying playing a YouTube video.
That's all.
Could you please help.

KomaOBS

I assume 2 things. You created a source "Display Capture"? With "infinite numbers of screens" you mean something like this.
This will show and record what's on your chosen display. For explanation: If OBS is in the foreground you will see the OBS window - OBS and captures itself and this ends in a mirroring effect.
If you want to record a Youtube video you can just start the recording, then open your browser and play the youtube video.
If you don't want those steps to be in your recorded video i would suggest to use a hotkey for starting and ending the recording.

Maybe watch a beginner guide on OBS if you havn't done that already :)

SolihullRog

Thank you for replying.
I see something far more complicated than yours, in that it shows the same screen over and over again, inside each other.
I simply want to record an area of my PC monitor, but everything seems to gloss over that, and go into far more complexity.
I'm used to SnagIt and Camtasia, and I don't play games.
I may want to record a YouTube video as its (non-maximum) window, and I want to see that I've selected the correct part of the display.
I've already watched several beginners videos and looked at some explanations on this forum, but everybody seems to go into far more detail without discussing basics.
I've used hundreds of software applications but never encountered one that ignores simple principles, like this does.

Last edited:

koala